Peace In The Middle East?

VS

You know, I really don’t know what to write here. I certainly don’t have anything profound to say. And yet, I want to say something. I don’t want my blog to look like my life is continuing on oblivious to the heart-breaking conflict being played out in the Middle East. For though my blog has said or shown nothing to date, I am currently anything but oblivious to the Lebanon-Israel conflict.

I have grown up with a dad who always kept his eye on the Middle East. For myself, I have mainly developed an interest in Lebanon since I was invited last year to go on a missions trip there this past January. I felt I couldn’t go. That probably was true and valid–but I’ve kicked myself repeatedly in the months since that I wasn’t on it. Though I said no, I requested to be kept in the information loop. I have learnt a lot! That interest has merged with my relationships/friendships with Muslims and also a growing interest in the Arab World.

I’m thankful that God has prompted me, in various ways, to tune in. Again, I have learnt a lot. If (like me) you find it all-too-easy to realise you have no idea what’s going on, here is a great spot to get the ‘whole’ run-down.

I’m certainly not here to write about which side is right or what is the solution. I love both sides and my heart goes out to the many innocents that have lost loved ones. My heart grieves the loss of lives, particularly to think of those that have gone into a Christ-less eternity. The loss of lives seems incredibly senseless and only continues to grow, particularly on the Lebanese side thus far…

You might want to remember in prayer the many missionaries in the region; the many Christians in both countries; the many who as yet have found no hope in Christ. And remember that, as Christians, regardless of what we might think or whose side we might want to take, we are to “pray for peace of Jerusalem” (Psalm 122:6)…

Leave a Reply

