My God Is So Awesome

He really is!

Today, I got some of the most amazing news that I have heard in the past five years. There are 1 or 2 things that rival it, but it rates right “up there”.

3 1/2 years ago, I received a heart-breaking phone call from a married Christian friend that I hadn’t heard from for 1 1/2 years before that. It was heart-breaking because it showed me a friend so different from the one that I had known; a friend who was embracing things that made no Biblical or logical sense; a friend who was losing friends and possibly family, as a result; a friend that it seemed nobody could “get through to” in order to help. I was heart-broken because he and his wife were very special to me.

I wondered if maybe God had allowed this random phone call to me as a “call to prayer”. I wondered if I was the only person who knew to pray in a “certain way for certain things” (though definitely not the only person praying!). And I took that seriously. I prayed diligently with specific, earnest prayers. I was pleading for a soul; seeking to intercede. I don’t remember how long I did that for. I just had to trust that God would hear my pleas and answer, though I might never know.

For the past 3 1/2 years, I have heard essentially nothing. I have occasionally prayed and wondered many times. Today, I received an e-mail from a mutual acquaintance (who I have only just got to know through most unusual circumstances!) answering my question. And do you know…God heard and answered my prayers: this guy “found the way back”; his family is still together. God has made some phenomenal changes in his life.

It is hard to find words to describe how this makes me feel. I think about the most accurate would be “quiet awe and wonder”. In many ways, I never even dared to hope that these prayers would be answered so amazingly. They seemed impossible. I had prayed other prayers that, at that point, I hadn’t seen answered. Some of those have recently also been answered or revealed, but all was dark back then.

It is speaking loudly to me that I must believe an answer always comes. It may seem black as night and the time may seem as long as eternity. Yet, I have now been on the other side of the “black night”. I have actually seen the light come! Sometimes the light is merely in the form of hope being restored and I have seen that before now. But now, I have also seen the impossible being answered. And it’s so exciting because I PRAYED! These were my prayers; my pain; my tears. GOD’S WORK–but my answers; my blessings; my joy.

I was just now reminded of an MSN conversation I had the other night. A friend asked me what I would like to have learned in 15 years. My reply? “In 15 years, I would like to have learnt to really be able to FULLY trust God…even when I can’t see…not just in hindsight…but when the road is dark to really, fully, know and believe that the light is coming…that it always comes. Always, always, always. And brighter than ever hoped possible. Did that make sense? I realise that won’t fully happen this side of eternity…but that’s what I’d like. :)” That was my reply word-for-word. Isn’t that funny?! šŸ™‚

So…my God is awesome–how about yours? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

