Such Fun

So, yes, I was in the South-East again over the weekend and had a wonderful time.

Now, a few people have queried “all my trips” (a whopping two!) to the South-East. Let me assure you: there is no budding romance!!! πŸ™‚ It’s just that I have quite a few friends down there and I have now worked out that it’s not such a big deal to drive down…this time I went alone (aren’t I so bwave?! lol).

My friend, Hannah, has a six-week placement for uni down there and she asked me to come visit her one weekend so she didn’t get too bored or lonely. I got her set up to board with my friends, Pete and Sal D, that I stayed with in January.

Unfortunately, Sally was in Adelaide for the weekend, so I didn’t get to see her at all, but Hannah and I had a great time, anyway. As Hannah said, “It feels like we’ve gone on a holiday together”. Apart from great conversations, one of our highlights was at Port MacDonnell. We were sitting on the break, having a really great talk, but that was all forgotten in a second when dolphins started swimming/jumping about 20 metres directly in front of us. It was so cool. It was of particular excitement to Hannah who had never seen dolphins in a natural environment, but I admit to being thrilled as well. πŸ™‚

Also on Saturday, we crossed the Victorian border to get to Princess Margaret Rose Caves (which we decided we didn’t want to spend $11 to go down into) and then to Nelson where we sat on the Glenelg River for a while. The road from PMRC to Nelson comes out in “no man’s land” exactly (it seemed) in the middle of the two state border signs. We, being amused by small things, thought it was quite cool to have “Welcome to South Australia” displayed on the right side of the road and “Welcome to Victoria” displayed on the left side of the road. πŸ™‚

Monday’s adventures consisted of visiting Hells Hole which was kind of eery and made me think (for no particular reason other than it’s eeriness) of “Picnic at Hanging Rock“**. Before that, we climbed to Centenary Tower which is a fairly steep climb at the end. This was what I missed doing on my last visit when walking was painful the day after circling the Blue Lake in flip-flops. πŸ™‚ Every step at the end made me grateful that I hadn’t tried it then!

My embarrassment for the weekend came on Sunday. I thought that I would make a match-making friend happy and told her that a certain person “scrubs up all right” when we were at church. I didn’t think anything more of it till that night and thought, “Flip, I better tell her not to pass that on!” I decided it was too late to text her and I would wait until I saw her the next day. Either way, I was too late. She had passed my comment along before we even left church!!! I was soooo embarrassed and even moreso when I considered the fact that the comment was fresh in his mind in our final group conversation right before we all drove our separate ways. I was grateful for the fact that I didn’t see him again, after I found out, before leaving town! Moral of the story: never try to keep a matchmaker happy! πŸ˜€

Well, Hannah has informed me that she left her camera cables back home and can’t get the pictures of her camera for another couple of weeks, so…no pictures for a while…sorry about that!

**I only found out through reading this Wikipedia article that this story actually isn’t true! For 14 years, I have thought it was a true story and don’t know anybody that doesn’t believe the same. You can’t imagine how liberating that is!!! And to find that there is a final chapter that gives the conclusion of the story…my mind never has to wrestle over the mystery again! I also didn’t know that the movie premiered in lil’ ol’ Adelaide…wow, that makes me proud! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

