It Always Pays To Ask!

I’m sure most of you could care less about this, but I’m going to tell you anyway! 🙂

This time last year, I signed up for a National Velocity credit card. (Now, before anybody hexes me over that, I have a credit card for online transactions–not because I’m a shopaholic–and I’m not in debt!) I already had a fee-free credit card, but this one could be linked to my frequent flyer card, had it’s annual fee waived for the first 12 months and automatically credited you with about 15,000 frequent flyer points. The latter would score you at least a return flight between Adelaide and Melbourne. I checked.

My plan? To score at least one free flight. I figured that I could cancel it before I had to pay the (to me, whopping) annual fee of $65. Since I didn’t cancel my fee-free credit card, it would be no hassle but potentially a lot of benefit. I was right and it’s worked out even better than I’d hoped.

I really didn’t want to cancel it, but there wasn’t ANY way I was paying $65 to keep it. So, I did what many good people before me have already tried: I called the NAB and asked them to waive the annual fee.

And guess what? They did. She checked my “account activity” and I passed–though it’s just as well she didn’t add up what profit they’ve got from me out of it because it is, literally, $0! lol She even told me to call back again at the same time next year and try that again…

I surely will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

