Just Stuff

When I went out to put the mail in the box at work last night, I heard a thud next to me on the pharmacy window. I looked around to see what it was and saw this little bird rolling around crazily in agony on the ground. I guess it flew straight into the glass. Hard. It was painful to watch! This rotten bigger bird was trying to peck it to pieces at the same time it was trying to work out if life was worth living. How cruel is that?! I kicked at it to get it to leave the little one alone but didn’t really know what else to do. After a while, the injured one just laid v-e-r-y still with it’s head in an awkward position and stayed that way for quite some time. I thought it was dead. And while I’m not into animals much at all, that was so sad. šŸ˜¦ I kept watching it, though, and when I went back it was up on its feet again. It was obviously very dazed because it sat stock-still for the longest time (can you imagine the headache?!), but eventually it must have flown away. And I was very relieved. šŸ™‚

On another subject, when I got home Sunday night, my mum was in tears on the phone. My nan’s husband–who we called Uncle John–had died a couple of hours before. My nan passed away a couple of years ago but Uncle John (who was a fair bit younger) was still going strong until very recently. He had been in hospital for some tests and transfusions and things in the last couple of weeks but there wasn’t any marked decline until Thursday when I was in the South-East. The entire family–except me–trooped down to see him that night. It turned out to be the last time any of us saw him. While we weren’t ultra-close, he’d been around almost my entire life and I am sorry that I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye. None of us could have known he would go so quickly, though. The funeral is this afternoon.

We’ve had a few deaths in our extended family over the past few years. It’s been a weird thing because, while a shrinking family is always a sad thing, it’s been a positive catalyst for the remaining family members who have actually grown closer. My extended family are all pretty spread out and we all live very different lives. This goes for both my mum’s side and my dad’s side. Yet in bringing people together for a funeral, these times have become almost like impromptu family reunions which, in turn, have connected our at-times-fragmented-family into more of a consolidated unit. This has been a good thing. It means you don’t invite near-strangers to 21sts, engagements and weddings and all that jazz my siblings have been working on over the last few years that I’ve been toeing the single line. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

