The Weekend

I’ve been asked twice on Myspace so far how my busy weekend was. Since I really don’t want to type it twice and it’s pretty boring to say, “Yep, my weekend was fine. What are you doing next weekend?” I decided it would become blog-fodder. So if you’re not interested, just click on to your next blog. πŸ™‚

Friday night, I left work and drove a-l-l the way down south to stay overnight with my friend Kat and her husband, Nima. Btw, Kat is a rare species. She is one of those near-extinct friends who DOESN’T DROP OFF THE PLANET when she finds the love of her life and you’re still single!!! I can say this with absolute confidence because we have weathered the dating, the engagement, the wedding and they’ve even passed their first wedding anniversary. πŸ™‚ Other than their honeymoon (which, yeah, I’ll excuse), she never went AWOL. She’s a legend. πŸ™‚ (I love you, Kat!)

So anyways, that was a fun, very late night. We made chocolate pudding (new experience for Kat; entertaining for me) and espresso coffee (in those nifty little things you use on the stove! new experience for me) and did the whole chocolate, chicks, chick flick thing–except Nima was there too, but feed a guy and when do they ever complain? πŸ˜‰

Saturday, I drove even f-u-r-t-h-e-r south to Aldinga where the young adults from my church were having a camp weekend. I just went down for the afternoon, though. Two married couples had organised a miniature “Amazing Race” for the Friday night and Saturday morning. I didn’t feel like I missed out but it was entertaining to hear the stories and see the tail-end of it. I got comandeered to supervise the second-to-last challenge (which was just to get a hole-in-one on a mini golf mat…no matter how long it took) and hand out the instructions for the final challenge. Now, people, it is winter; it was COLD, but the last challenge required one team member to JUMP IN THE POOL and collect five specially-marked pegs from the many that had been thrown in. Yes, that’s right: the unheated, outdoors, truly ice-water-filled pool. To their credit, EVERY team participated. Let me say, I would not have! I would have cheerfully lost over that challenge (ok, maybe not cheerfully…). Thankfully, I was perfectly safe. I said that the person who came up with that idea should have had to jump in as well. House, our youth pastor, went rather vague on that one so I have my suspicions that it was him. πŸ™‚

Right when they all were about to have dinner, I ‘had’ to drive a-l-l the way back to the northeastern suburbs (1 1/2 hours) to catch up with my friend, Ruth. At any rate, it got me out of staying overnight at a frigid campsite. πŸ˜‰ I did have a good time with her, though. We don’t get to catch up that often.

The bad news of the day was that when I left Ruth’s, I had two red lights on my dash. Not a good sign. I pulled over and called my dad (that’s what they’re for!) who told me to drive home, unless something else happened–in which case I should stop and call him and he’d come and pick me up. (He must be a good dad; he didn’t tell my to hitch-hike!) Turns out I probably have an alternator issue and I’m stuck driving my family’s van (poor me) to work until I can get it fixed. My battery wasn’t charging and it was a good thing it didn’t start at Aldinga or my lights probably would have drained it before I got home and left me stranded!! Thank you, Lord.

I had initially planned to go “down the farm” tomorrow but couldn’t (unusually) get time off till next week. I am finding it really encouraging that, for both of my trips down so far, the Lord has rearranged events so that my trips have been pushed back one week. Both times, on the day I would have left, I had no way of going anywhere (the first one I was really sick) and the time I’d taken off work would have been wasted and/or messed people around. Thank you again, Lord, I really appreciate it!

Sunday was reasonably quiet but we did have people back for lunch. I wasn’t going anywhere though! The Sunday service was interesting as the pastor did an altar call/invitation at the end. Brethren people don’t seem to believe in that kind of thing so it isn’t done very often at all! Twice, maybe, in the 3 1/2 years I’ve been around the place? We joked with another ex-IB (Ind. Baptist) that it was the ex-IB’s that were first off the rank running down the aisle. πŸ™‚ (In the interest of full disclosure, no, I wasn’t one of them, btw.) No offence to any Bretho’s reading here either…we were just “brought up” with a post-sermon invitation. Unless you have a really traumatic history, regardless of how much you change, I think there’s elements of the past you always have a soft-spot for. (Don’t get me wrong, though, we’re not into the abuse and over-use of such an institution.) Another thing I’ve enjoyed lately is the increased frequency of hymns and old choruses being mixed in with all the modern worship songs. I’m not anti the latter, but I do like a nice, good mix. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

