Interviewed

Alex got interviewed on her blog and I offered to be tagged if she was desperate. I guess she was. 🙂

The Rules:
Leave me a comment saying “Interview me”.
I will respond by e-mailing five questions–I get to pick the questions.
You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
When others comment, asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Alex’s questions and my answers are following…

1. How did you first start blogging and what has kept you in the bloggers’ world?

Initially, I started over at I-can’t-even-remember-what-it’s-called with the intention of using it as a substitute for my hard-copy journal. Hence the title “Just My Journal”. I had some public posts and some friends-only posts. I think maybe Danielle introduced me to blogger and I decided that was better and switched over. Having decided that trying to completely journal online was too hard and (obviously) too public to do privately, I reverted to scribbling my personal thoughts in my hard-copy journal and typing my ‘public’ life into blogger. Having a sister, brother-in-law and nieces and nephews in America has been a rather big motivation to blog and getting comments helps keep me motivated. 🙂 Then, once you get started, I don’t know…it’s a whole extra world of people! I’ve always been a letter-writer and a diary-keeper and blogging is like an extension of that.

2. What is your favourite memory and what makes it so special?

I have lots and lots of good memories, so I don’t know if there’s really a favourite there yet. I do have a kind of sad memory that is a treasured memory that I wouldn’t trade for the world, though. My nan (Dad’s mum) died a couple of years ago. She’d had a stroke and spent some months in rehab and then nursing homes. For the last couple of months, we made the trek from the northern suburbs down south to see her once or twice a week. One of the times I went, I was a bit sick so didn’t kiss her (usually mandatory! lol) when I first went in. However, when I left, she motioned me over and was trying to communicate something. No longer able to really speak, I didn’t think I could work out what she wanted. I just tried to reassure her and obliged her (willingly!) with a kiss goodbye since I could tell she really wanted me to. That made her happy and I think that’s actually what she wanted. Little did I know right at that moment, it was the last time I would see her. I often wondered if she somehow knew that. When we got a call that she was deteriorating, my parents made plans to head down in the next couple of hours but I couldn’t go till the next day. As it was, my parents got called back before they were able to leave saying that she had already passed away. I am eternally grateful for the fact that I got to say goodbye. God is good and that is one of the most treasured memories I have. He knew what I didn’t and granted me the privilege of being able to hug and kiss her one last time.

3. What is your favourite type of weather?

Cloudless blue sky and sunshine. Spring-is-in-the air type of weather. It’s Kristy-comes-alive weather. 🙂

4. What’s your singing voice like?

Nothing exciting. I can keep a tune but you wouldn’t pay to hear me sing. And most people have read that comment around here recently so that is nothing new. I wish I could harmonise at the “drop of a hat”. I like it and it would make my life easier.

5. Approx how many hours a week do you spend blogging when you should be doing work?

Really, who knows? 🙂 I’m the receptionist so, regardless of how busy you are (or are not), the desk and phone must be manned. Consequently, I often have a lot of time to twiddle my thumbs since we often aren’t that busy! I would have even more time to twiddle those thumbs if I didn’t blog. I probably don’t blog at work so much as I read blogs at work. We often have a lot of scanning to do on a slow scanner and blogs are a great filler while the prehistoric scanner does its thing. 🙂 Hence, I don’t feel guilty about blogging at work! I doubt I would do any blogging at work if my job was a busy/crazy one. That would just make things more complicated!

There, Alex, you have your answers and thanks for asking. Anybody else desperate enough to be tagged, feel free to leave a comment and ask. Leave a comment, anyway–you’re not tagged unless you make a specific request. 🙂

Leave a Reply

