I’m So Bwave…

…or not!

I went to the dentist a couple of weeks ago for the first time since I was ten. Yes, you read that right. Seventeen years ago. 🙂 Bad move to wait so long because it then becomes bigger than Ben Hur. At any rate, I was right about the fact that I thought I might need a filling. I did. Just a teeny tiny one. I can tell you that didn’t put my mind at rest a whole lot, though. It was my first. No previous experience to go by there.

Having, however, previously worked for a dermatologist as a minor surgery assistant, I have seen a LOT of anaesthetic injections given and, let me tell you, it’s not a comforting sight. So I was freaking out, purely about the injection. If somebody could have told me that it didn’t hurt, I would have been fine.

Actually, I wouldn’t have believed them so it probably wouldn’t have helped. 🙂 But I promise you, IT DIDN’T EVEN HURT.

I’m also proud of the fact that I was “so brave” and went alone. No boyfriend, no mother, just me. (Don’t think it didn’t cross my mind, though, because I am–I confess–a total wuss.) But, yeah, I guess you would hope that was possible at 27, wouldn’t you?! It is also a good thing because my dental nurse happened to be one of the new young mums at the young mums’ Bible study that I attend!***

Anyway, I am happy to report that I am still alive…one filling heavier but many loads lighter of heart! I am soooo relieved to have that over and done with. I’m sure Steve is too–he had to listen to the lead-up to both appointments! He is one patient guy. 😀

***(No, there is nothing you’re missing there!! 🙂 I attend as an honorary member because I am friends with many of them and/or they are my age…plus they reckon I’m entitled to it with ‘all’ my baby experience and the fact that I have semi-adopted many of their kids on a regular basis!)

Leave a Reply

