Around Home

This week’s been really busy. As I’ve mentioned, my family is coming to stay this weekend and so we’ve been on a deadline to get our spare rooms finished. One is long finished; the other is now getting close! Plus, a lot of stuff has been sitting on our very big dining room table while we are going through it but we will need every last one of those chairs over the weekend so we need to deal with all that too. πŸ™‚ So that is mostly what I’ve been up to!

Steve had an admin meeting for church on Monday night and the wife of one of the other guys invited me around for coffee. That was so nice! Sarah has made quite a lot of effort with me and I’m really grateful for somebody willing to do that when I’m a stranger in a new everything!

Another person who’s been really welcoming is a neighbour of ours, an older lady Elizabeth. She’s dropped in to see me twice. Unfortunately, both times I was in the truck with Steve but she left lovely little notes each time (and even homemade biscuits as a welcome gift!). My mother-in-law tried to take me around to see her but then Elizabeth was busy so we ended up booking ahead. The day was today and so we had a lovely little morning tea with her. She’s a delight. She’s quite the “binocular lady” (by her own admission) so I’m going to have to make sure that I’m behaving myself over on our little parcel of the neighbourhood!!! πŸ™‚

Tomorrow, I’m supposed to have an appointment at the Post Office about my passport. I have a current one but need to apply for a new (free) one with my new name on it. That wouldn’t be any drama except that we currently can’t find out BDM-issued marriage certificate!!! It’s around because I used it to fill out the paperwork but who knows if it will turn up in time or if I’ll have to cancel. The wedding-day one just doesn’t cut it these days apparently.

There’s so much stuff getting done around here; it’s exciting. I have a very industrious husband. πŸ™‚

And lest you think this week can’t be all that busy because I’ve blogged at least two days in a row, I should tell you that I typed this post along with the CWCI one but set it to auto-post a day later…handy, that!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 16:04:22

    Thought I’d leave a note to say Hi and let you know I’ve been visiting your blog!! It was great catching up on Monday, you’re welcome anytime! I hope you have a lovely weekend with your family (your first visitors!) Love Sarah

    Reply

  2. alihsee
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 12:29:01

    Hi Kristy, it was nice to see you at CWCI – though you may not have completely remembered us! πŸ™‚ Hope you really enjoyed the weekend & speakers. Catch you around sometime! Your resident stalker πŸ˜‰ (oh yeah, I created a new blog… not much to it yet but its a start!)

    Reply

  3. apkabr82
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 02:10:58

    Kristy! I know how big our God is . . and I know that He’s big enough to hear my prayers from around the world! I can’t begin to imagine what you are going through, but from what Mandy has told me you are a very special girl, with a loving heart, and a true passion for the Lord. I pray that He will continue to bring you peace and understanding as only He can! I wish there was more we could do!Love, April

    Reply

Leave a Reply

