Descent Into Hell

It was a week ago today that this nightmare started.

Today, last week, started off with such promise. We woke early, refreshed, after a good (early) night’s sleep. Steve read our devotional to us while we lay in bed before getting up. We didn’t usually do this in the morning but, for some reason, he decided to. We were ready early for church and walked calmly out the door–instead of our usual frantic departure. I commented how unusual it was for us to be so organised and relaxed on a Sunday morning.

We had a good morning at church and hung around chatting to people for a fair while afterwards. We got home later for lunch than planned, but we didn’t care. My family was staying with us and we were going to eat lunch then meet Steve’s parents down the river. We were late but it wouldn’t matter. The day was so beautiful.

We had a wonderful afternoon on the river. Steve ferried everybody up and down the river, beginning and ending with me “because [I] was the most important”. We managed to sneak some time alone around the river bend and, on being interrupted, planned to take the boat out again together later.

Later never came. Hell did.

This time last week, we were camped at a river landing watching emergency crews comb the river and its banks for my husband. I think I got 2-3 hours restless sleep about 3am when the emergency crews had to stop for the night.

It’s unbelievable that something like this could happen to somebody like Steve. If anything was expected to take his life unexpectedly, it would be the truck–not a little tinny on a little river. I’m still in disbelief that his body–so tough; so strong and hard-working; so full of life–could end up overcome so easily and so close to safety. But the reality is all too true.

And I have no good reason why.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matt
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 22:00:23

    I have no idea why either!

    Reply

  2. Bamboodle
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 22:02:24

    Oh Kristy… I really wish I could be there. If I were I would just hug you and hug you and hug you. I can’t even begin understand the pain you were going through and I feel so sorry that you have to go through it. 😦 We prayed for all you guys at church today. A while ago, a family friend of ours was lost too.. and bang, in a car accident, gone, without warning….the most beautiful lady, the most caring lady, the most lovely lady… gone… whilst delivering toys for Samaritan’s Purse… it seems to be without reason too… unfair…to us anyway, but our Heavenly father knows why, I believe. xxxoo love you forever

    Reply

  3. a woman found
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 01:16:54

    I’m praying. Oh with tears and throbbing heart I’m praying for you who I’ve never met!Sheila in Arizona

    Reply

  4. Keziah
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 01:53:03

    I keep praying for you, Kristy. Just wanted you to know that.Keziah x

    Reply

  5. Mrs.Naz@BecomingMe
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 04:00:06

    I am so very sorry that this has happened to you and that there are no answers. May you continue to rest in the arms of our Lord. Prayers are with you.

    Reply

  6. Stitchingmum
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 12:15:56

    Thank you for sharing your heart Kristy, and what is obviously a beautiful memory for you.

    Reply

  7. Stacey
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 00:47:40

    I am overcome with with the magnitude of the loss of your beloved husband. Please know I will be in prayer for you along with many others. I am sorry.

    Reply

  8. * ~ *Jessica* ~ *
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 10:26:31

    That is a beautiful blog entry. Through tears of sadness, I will continue to pray. You all will be in my thoughts.

    Reply

  9. Karen_thrifty
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 12:41:42

    Praying that God will give you a double dose of comfort, peace, and rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

