Accomplishments For Yesterday & Today

Yesterday’s accomplishment was that I read my Bible. Only Psalm 121 (compliments of Caleb who, if he read this blog, would be very excited to know) but it’s the first time I’ve read my Bible for over a month by choice or without skimming a verse that I felt obligated to look up.

Today’s accomplishment was that I went to town and managed to do the things I had to do without being forced to leave. I wasn’t alone but I drove in. I made four stops. I met legendary friends who lent their assistance to me buying a DVD player. I was getting close to the end of my time/crowd/effort/energy allowance but I made it through and was still calm walking to the car. I drove home. I have to credit God with that because I did ask Him to help me make it through the actual selecting and purchasing without needing to run. And I survived. Comforting because I actually was apprehensive about going into town today because I haven’t been since Tuesday which was one of the days I needed to cut my trip short.

Plus, I came home and set up my DVD player successfully. It actually plays a DVD on my TV, how about that?! I’m so electronically-challenged and my default is usually to get a guy to do it. Steve would have had it done easy. So to manage on my own, even though it’s small and trivial, is a relief since the list of “guy stuff” that I will eventually need to take on is seemingly endless.

On that, though, I do owe everybody a blog post on the awesome way Steve’s mates (and their families plus a few other young guys I grew up with) have been taking care of me and relieving me of worrying about doing any of that “guy stuff” at the moment. Words are extremely inadequate to express my appreciation to them and to all of my rotating house-mates…

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 18:53:06

    Hey, congratulations. Those are HUGE steps to take, and I imagine not at all easy.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 19:58:46

    Thinking of you, love and prayers, the Hazel XX

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 21:34:51

    amazing! God is good!!that’s so great you did all that πŸ™‚ much love

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 21:52:41

    I am so excited to hear that you made it through your errands!! God is good!! πŸ™‚ And how nice of Steve’s friends to help you out. I am sure they are happy to help. It sounds like God is providing for your needs one day at a time (daily bread) just as He promised. I will continue praying for you.Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Jewelz
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 22:40:16

    Kristy, I am so proud of you! Well done!I love you lots, and I’m praying for you every day.God bless.

    Reply

  6. Janet
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 23:53:46

    Kristy,Thank you for sharing your story. I have continued to pray for you, and I will keep praying. Thank you, God, for listening to the prayers of Kristy and all the people around the world who are praying for her. She loves you and wants to trust you to see her through this time of sorrow, but it’s scary, so please take away her fears. Thank you so much for her successful visit to town. Please keep giving her the grace to trust you more each step along this journey.Keep believing, Kristy!

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 23:57:05

    Congratulations! Those are huge accomplishments!

    Reply

  8. jen
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 01:00:41

    Dear Kristy,I’ve only commented once, to let you know I would be praying for you during the memorial service (and I did… right on time) and I have thought about you often since then, but haven’t been back to your site, because I lost it.Tonight, the Lord caused me to remember the name of your blog. I am so sorry you are struggling so deeply, but I smile at your accomplishments. baby steps is all it takes, dear heart.I also was reminded of a video I watched a while back, and thought you might be blessed by it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ESC9zEOcgUI will continue to pray for you; it’s an honour.Jen in Darwin.

    Reply

  9. a woman found
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 02:16:44

    Praying for you! I’m so glad you were able to take those steps of faith in the accomplishments of yesterday and today…I’m trusting He’s carrying you through!Big Hug!Sheila

    Reply

  10. Jen
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 06:22:44

    Praise the Lord for baby steps. He doesn’t expect us to do it on our own, He holds our hand with each step! Still praying for you.

    Reply

  11. Stitchingmum
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 08:10:23

    Well done gorgeous girl, you did good *grin*.Ali xxoo

    Reply

  12. Jennifer
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 12:33:14

    It’s just one step at a time! You’re looking at a marathon, not a sprint. Good job, and something to thank God for. One more day.

    Reply

  13. Anonymous
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 13:15:43

    Hey girl, I’m proud of you! I’m very glad you took time to read the Word and that you asked God to help you on your trip. I can tell, that, little by little, you’re letting Him back into your life, and that is awesome. Being close to Him is THE key to a fulfilled and joyful life. I’m so proud of you. You’re doing great. Your brother, Jason Cagle

    Reply

  14. TEXAUS MOMMA
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 14:08:41

    I’m so excited! Love you sis, and you know I am still praying for you too…Praise the Lord for all His help…I am so glad…you go girl! Wish I were closer, I’d give you a great big hug… πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Anonymous
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 14:40:35

    Your achievements are awesome Kristy! May HE continue to strengthen you!Love Monica from Craigmore

    Reply

  16. sara
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 15:25:46

    fantastic to hear of your achievments! we are all so, so proud of you just as steve wouldve been.anyway…..who says girls cant fo “guys” things!!love you heaps, you are small steppin it out great!!love and hugs, sara xoxoxoxo

    Reply

  17. Boldly Going ... to Dallas, Texas, USA!
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 16:28:04

    Hi Kristy, great news! It has been a real eye opener to read your blog, you are teaching me so much. You are also the reason I have decided to blog to. I’m glad you enjoy my sense of humor and I hope I can be an encouragement somehow, to you and maybe others too? Keep in touch. House

    Reply

  18. Dad
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 23:50:29

    Hi Kristy,Praise the Lord. I didn’t think it would be long after your last blog entry. (Jeremiah 20:7-9 came to mind.) What a psalm to read first up. Joy B shared that psalm with me at the funeral as we both looked to the beautiful hills overlooking the cemetery. What symbolism of hope.Love Dad (Shock and Awe)

    Reply

  19. Mum
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 23:57:34

    Your cheer squad is out! πŸ™‚ What a good day – a milestone for sure. Love you lots! Auntie Di and Uncle Rod send their love to you. You are so special to so many. Can’t wait to see you again. Love Mum

    Reply

  20. Sarah Ann
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 01:28:04

    That is a BIG answer to our prayers. The Lord is helping you, Kristy. Continuing to pray for you. Sarah

    Reply

  21. tootie
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 05:52:28

    I’m so glad to hear it! What a blessing.You are still in my prayers, of course!

    Reply

  22. Mandy Owens
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 07:42:34

    that’s great news! a day in town without a panic attack… that’s great, kristy! i hope it keeps getting better from here… maybe those panic attacks will be a thing of the past from this point on.

    Reply

  23. Anonymous
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 15:30:08

    Awesome, you’re doing great – really encouraged. Keep Going! Troy.

    Reply

  24. Celine
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 19:13:16

    YAY! That’s very nice to read Kristy!One step at a time!Thinking of you!

    Reply

  25. april penny
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 01:02:56

    Praise Him! That’s wonderful.Still praying for you.

    Reply

  26. Jennifer
    May 01, 2008 @ 08:45:19

    Kristy:Thank you for sharing your raw emotions, your deepest thoughts, and for letting us share your pain with you. So many people are praying for you that you will never meet here on earth but we will all rejoice together one day in Heaven! We serve a faithful and awesome God. I have a song that plays first on my blog and each time I hear it…I think of you and say a prayer for you. It is “Yet I Will Praise You” by Vineyard. If you get a chance check out my blog at http://www.ordinarychristianwomansheart.blogspot.com. I also share my innermost feelings, emotions, battles, stuggles and victories through Jesus Christ. Live is not easy and seems so unfair but I know that God is a loving, merciful and awesome God, even when I don’t understand and when I don’t even want to try.Love and prayers from Arkansas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

