Miriam’s Tribute

My sister-in-law wrote this and her husband read it out at Steve’s funeral. I love it because I related to so much of it and so I asked her if I could put it up on my blog to share with everybody who didn’t hear it read out on the day…

To my Dearest Big Brother – Steve,

Thank you for slowing down for me when my little legs couldn’t keep up.
Thank you for always making me feel safe.
Thank you for poking out your tongue right back at me, when I’d poked mine out at you.
Thank you for all the shopping expeditions we shared, and for accepting my fashion & styling tips.
Thank you for your huge heart, your big beautiful smile, & your bear hugs.
Thank you for sharing with me when you were hurting, and for asking & respecting my advice.
Thank you for calling me, even when I’d said I’ll get in first, but hadn’t.
Thank you for loving and accepting me just for me, and not wanting or expecting me to be someone different.
You are such a big part of my family, someone I really connected with, and a part that can not be filled.
I wanted nothing but the absolute best for you, and for you to be truly happy, and I’m so glad you were.
I am so thankful you’re my Big Brother, and I miss you so very much.
Much Love, and many Bear Hugs & Kisses

Your Little Sister – Miriam

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alihsee
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 11:02:36

    Every single post I read has me wiping away the tears. Still praying for you, Kristy & so glad that you have such a strong support group!

    Reply

  2. amanda
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 12:31:15

    What a lovely tribute! Your hubby sounds like he was an amazing man. Thank you for continuing to share him with us. I am glad you made some progress last week . . . and pray you continue to make more this week. Praying that you see some rays of hope in the near future.

    Reply

  3. Ashlea
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 17:37:01

    I agree. I am so happy for you that you have made some progress. I was thinking the other day, what i would feel like if i lost someone that close to me. The only person i could think about straight away was James, my boyfriend. The feelings i felt where so different to anything i had ever felt. I just fell on the floor and cried. It isnt the same as losing a husband, but to me it is. James is so much more to me than just a boyfriend. He is my everything. And for one brief second i understood how you felt. Even while writing this i am starting to cry.The hurt i felt, just thinking about losing him, would probably have to be magnified by like 100, to get the extreme of you pain.I really do feel for you Kristy. And you will continue to be in my thoughts. I really cant wait to me you someday. Who knows, that day could be someday soon.Lots of hugs and kisses.Ashlea

    Reply

  4. izitjo
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 18:08:19

    It was lovely listening to what Miriam had to say on the day and it was equally beautiful today…I’m so glad to see you putting one foot in front of the other Kristy. Keep it up.xo

    Reply

  5. sara
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 18:12:17

    what a beautiful tribute from a beatiful person. you are lucky to have miriam as a sister-in-law(brad too). praying for all of you, today and always. love sara xoxoxox

    Reply

  6. Rel
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 19:49:33

    You are in my thoughts and prayers, Kristy. You are achieving everyday 🙂

    Reply

  7. Mrs.Naz@BecomingMe
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 10:11:59

    What a beautiful tribute

    Reply

  8. Robyn
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 12:27:04

    I’ve been praying for you but must confess I hadn’t thought about Steve’s family other than his parents. I’ll add his sister to my list. What a lovely brother!

    Reply

  9. Mandy Owens
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 15:02:04

    that was so sweet!

    Reply

  10. Celine
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 19:14:12

    Very touching…Take care Kristy.

    Reply

  11. april penny
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 01:03:50

    That’s beautiful

    Reply

  12. M. C. Pearson
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 15:09:16

    So beautiful…the bear hugs got me…I’m all teary eyed now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

