New Life

My brother and sister-in-law have been expecting their first child. They had no idea whether it would be a boy or a girl but Michael rang me last night to tell me that, if it was a boy, they were wanting to give him Stephen as a middle name. He asked me if that was ok. I cried and said I’d love it.

They had a boy! So today we welcome Caleb Stephen into the world (no picture yet). Again, I cried when I heard. I can’t even express how much it meant to me that they would do that.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janna
    May 01, 2008 @ 01:25:24

    What a special tribute to your husband! Our oldest daughter Sarah is named after my husband’s baby sister that died before she was born. I think of her often and who she might be today because of our daughter. Your husband will never be forgotten…JannaYour FIRST friend in Nebraska

    Reply

  2. Darcy
    May 01, 2008 @ 02:50:35

    I agree, what a wonderful tribute!

    Reply

  3. Krista
    May 01, 2008 @ 03:04:43

    Stephen’s name will live on in your nephew’s name. And the Lord himself remembers your Stephen–all his nuances, his personality, his way of communicating…all of that is kept safe in the Lord.I’m still praying for you. Thank you for posting and letting others in on your thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Alicia
    May 01, 2008 @ 03:39:14

    Congratulations on your new nephew and his very special name.

    Reply

  5. april penny
    May 01, 2008 @ 04:32:12

    How sweet! Congratulations on your new nephew!

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    May 01, 2008 @ 08:12:08

    That is very special. Still praying for you. I thought of you at 1:30 EST as I was driving down the road and I figured it must be the middle of the night in Australia. I prayed God would help you through the nights, which must be very difficult. Maybe God gave you this special nephew as a gift? (Of course babies are gifts, but you know what I mean.) He takes one life and gives another one. Take care of yourself.Laura 🙂

    Reply

  7. lauren clark
    May 01, 2008 @ 09:07:53

    awww how great!

    Reply

  8. Stitchingmum
    May 01, 2008 @ 09:09:59

    Congratulations Aunty Kristy, and it’s so special to See Uncle Stevie’s name living on in your nephew 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hannah
    May 01, 2008 @ 09:59:43

    How special

    Reply

  10. Chel
    May 01, 2008 @ 10:05:39

    That is so wonderful, I hadnt realized why your new nephew is named Caleb Steven! That post just made me cry, thinking about the namesake. Still praying for you, Kristy.God bless. Chel.

    Reply

  11. Chel
    May 01, 2008 @ 10:07:41

    sorry, I spelt “Stephen” with a “v” instead of “ph”. Just thought I’d better make sure you know I do realize I spelt it wrong!!xx

    Reply

  12. Robyn
    May 01, 2008 @ 15:25:22

    Congratulations on your new nephew!What a very precious tribute to Stephen.

    Reply

  13. Mum
    May 01, 2008 @ 19:58:31

    Can’t wait to have you visit soon. Went to the hospital twice today and he is definitely Mikes! – definite family resemblance in the nose. He is placid and gorgeous (Mel’s influence)!! Caleb is perfect and delightful… a precious way to remember your special man in this special little man. Very special..xx Mum

    Reply

  14. nicole
    May 01, 2008 @ 22:20:05

    how thoughtfull!

    Reply

  15. Celine
    May 02, 2008 @ 05:44:28

    Awww! How wonderful!Congratulations Aunty! 🙂

    Reply

  16. lisa
    May 02, 2008 @ 13:17:36

    Hey Kristy he suites his name

    Reply

  17. Mandy Owens
    May 02, 2008 @ 15:50:38

    aww, that’s wonderful! congrats on becoming an aunt all over again! 🙂

    Reply

  18. sara
    May 02, 2008 @ 20:49:10

    hi there kristy, i think steve wouldve been really ‘chuffed’ with your bro and sis-in-law naming their baby after him. you have a delightful family base around you, God has so blessed you in that way. we hope you enjoy your visit to see caleb, give him a cuddle from everyone in mount gambier, love you, small steps, sara xoxoxox

    Reply

  19. Anonymous
    May 03, 2008 @ 13:49:59

    Hey special one…So glad to hear the wonderful news of Calbeb Stephen’s safe arrival! – and what a wonderful gift to you in his name! Congrats and lots of love and hugs from us all… jjejd&b xoxoxoxoxoxo

    Reply

  20. Anonymous
    May 03, 2008 @ 15:14:55

    Hello gorgeous! I love the name Caleb Stephen, special! Just as was our Stephen. I was missing him last night. We sat up late with M&S, and I thought about how Stevie would sit up late with us and nod off on the couch with either coffee or a coke in his hand! ha, he did spill a few times. hehe. I am so proud of you, you are doing a great job, and I dont care if you feel like crying when I am around. What i love about Kristy – you are so thoughtful and honest! Sending you a HUGE hug. c ya next week. (oh and hi mum and jewlz, if you’re reading this) luv yaTrac

    Reply

  21. Mrs. Walker
    May 08, 2008 @ 06:50:12

    What a sweet tribute! Congrats on this new little one to love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

