Never Seems To End

You can’t ever let your guard down around here. The minute you do, you get blind-sideded by something else.

After being told that we wouldn’t be likely to get the autopsy report until after the inquest, I stopped looking for it for months to come. Lo and behold, it rocks up in my mail tonight. Right at a time when I didn’t need it and wasn’t expecting it. Along with a letter from the cemetery.

The administrative processes in a tragedy, coupled with all the partnership wrap-up paperwork and the legal tape involved in sorting out an estate lacking a will, add up to what feels like a constant barrage of emotional hits. It’s not rapid fire. It’s a slow, steady, seemingly never-ending onslaught. It’s like somebody who just fires their gun every ten seconds–you wish they’d just get it over with and run out of ammunition…

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorren Says...
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 00:15:38

    Praying for you. Don’t give up.

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 01:39:12

    Remember God won’t give us more than we can handle. Praying for you.

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 07:54:15

    You are a strong person. I am praying for you. Laura 🙂

    Reply

  4. LeAnn
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 09:33:39

    Hey Girl! Hopefully this will be a fun distraction and not another task to think about. I “tagged” you. Visit http://www.awidowsmight.blogspot.com for instructions.I continue to pray for you. Please remember that I am here if you need to chat!Blessings,LeAnn

    Reply

  5. Janine (txmomx6)
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 16:03:38

    I just found your blog through another widow’s blog. First, I want to tell you how very, very sorry I am that you are having to go through this. That you are now in a club you didn’t choose to join. It sucks. My husband died 7 months ago, also very suddenly.I started my blog back in September as a humorous story about raising a family of 8. Then Jim died on Dec. 18th and it’s never been the same. I put it all out there and try to be very honest, as you do.You are now in my prayers and if you get a moment, I’d love for you to add me to yours. Come by my blog sometime and see what you think.Take care,Janine

    Reply

  6. Suzanne
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 10:43:43

    Keep going, I know that you are strong, rely on the Lord, lean on Him, Don’t give up or give in. Praying for you, Love you heaps

    Reply

  7. Luanne
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 13:05:34

    I can relate with red tape when your loved one dies. Felt like I was constantly jumping through hoops. Hold on and lean on the thoughts and prayers of everyone. There will soon be a speck of light on the horizon that will grow larger by the day. Luanne

    Reply

  8. gilly
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 10:25:36

    Keep on keeping on. We’re praying for you.

    Reply

  9. Celine
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 19:50:00

    Thinking of you Kristy…Lots of hugs!

    Reply

  10. M. C. Pearson
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 00:14:14

    Thinking about you.

    Reply

  11. april penny
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 02:16:54

    I’m praying for you. Hang in there.

    Reply

  12. Winky
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 20:36:31

    Hello thereI’ve been reading your blog since the tragedy, and as much as I feel for what you have been going through I feel that now is a time where you need to seriously consider trusting fully in the Lord.From what I can gather, you really did not know your late husband for that long. Yet I have read very little about ‘how others’ have been affected by his unexpected death.How are his family and friends coping? How can you best help them? Trust me – You will gain much satisfaction in turning your focus away from yourself, your emotions and how you are feeling and concentrating on helping others as Jesus would.Please pray about it.Yours in Christ,Bob.

    Reply

  13. Anonymous
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 23:55:44

    “Bob” has a really good point. I keep wondering how Steve’s parents and siblings are doing. But I think that perhaps you are focusing on them in the real world, and trying to help them through their suffering from losing someone who has been a huge part of their lives for over 3 decades, but you just don’t mention all that on your blog simply because it’s *your* blog…and that’s okay.

    Reply

  14. Mandy Owens
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 14:58:09

    if only Bob knew the half of it. chin up, love… you’re doing great! everything that comes up in the mail like that will eventually be one more thing off the list… and EVENTUALLY all of the paperwork WILL end… hang in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

