Happenings

On Thurdsay, I went to see Cinderella On Ice. It was great–not much like the story but who cares? I love “on ice” shows. I’d always wanted to see one and went to my first back in 2006 (Swan Lake). Cinderella was my second and I don’t plan for it to be my last! The Imperial Ice Stars do a fantastic job of everything from sets to costumes to music to skating. They definitely do not disappoint; it’s all impressive.

My mum and I also booked this past week to fly to Canberra next month. I’ve wanted to go back to go to Floriade for a few years now and haven’t got there. So now we are finally going!

We will also go down (up? I have no idea!) to Moss Vale to Capernwray. Steve went to Capernwray some years back and I had looked at going a couple of times but never have. So there is a women’s convention (Refresh) over a weekend that we hope to attend. The other reason for going there is so that I can meet some special friends of Steve’s. They were unable to attend our wedding and I missed meeting them at Steve’s funeral, but they have faithfully kept in contact and prayed for me. It will be a very special thing to be able to meet.

I found, with all of those things happening and fitting together finally, that excitement is rather exhausting! It was nice to feel excited about something again but it takes so much energy and, thus, rather short-lived.

This weekend, I’ve been up at Mannum/Caloote. My cousin got engaged recently and this weekend was an overnight party to celebrate that and also have a housewarming for their new holiday house. I stayed in a holiday house with some of my siblings–and my nephew who is the cutest kid in town!

I hadn’t seen any of my aunts/uncles/cousins since the funeral and so I have to admit that I wasn’t really thrilled about going. However, although I was teary and fragile upon arrival and for a while after, I survived and did enjoy seeing my relatives (which is as far as my sociability extended). I particularly appreciated my cousin who, although it was her engagement and celebrations, was very gracious about my fragility and constantly reassured me that they just felt so honoured that I went because she knew it would be really hard for me.

Another person who was good to chat with was my aunt. (It’s crazy-funny that I just googled her and found all that stuff about her professional life! Read the testimonials; they’re right–she is crazy-funny! She would be a fantastic speaker on the most boring of topics because she could make it fun. And do you know what else is crazy-funny? I see, she was a speaker for the Livestock Transport Association–which Steve was part of and my in-laws still belong to–plus she’s spoken for other farming and livestock associations who I never would have thought of having a speaker like this!) Anyway, she counts in the group of people who just “get it”. SHE, last night, told ME that things get harder at the three month mark (like I mentioned here) and I was able to tell her that did, indeed, happen and explain it and I could tell she understood what I was saying–even though she’s never been widowed. I guess that’s why she’s good at what she does!

And, finally, a shout-out to our best man, Matt. It’s his birthday today. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, OLD MAN!!! So, if you’re feeling friendly, head over and wish him a happy birthday and tell him I sent you. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tootie
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 02:49:00

    It sounds like you have some amazing family and friends. I’m so glad they are a support to you! I love ice shows, too. I saw a Disney one on ice, and it was so fun!

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 06:18:00

    Did Steve go to Capernwray? How cool! My friend and I went there for a “taste and see” – I think that was in 1995. I wonder if we would have met him, or was that well before his time?You will love Floriade! Soooo beautiful. I’m glad you had an ok time with your extended family and especially that your aunt was so supportive 🙂

    Reply

  3. Mum-me
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 08:21:00

    Floriade is certainly worth the effort most years, and I am hoping this year will be no different.Hope you enjoy it lots. I know we will.

    Reply

  4. Tolly
    Aug 31, 2008 @ 20:30:00

    This sort of Ice show is nothing like a Disney on Ice production, this is staged in a Theatre and does not have people in silly costumes like bears/ducks etc.. Also the story line used is closer to the original versions, so no fairy godmother/pumpkins/buttons/princes thank god.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

