Five Months

Today’s thought is that, in one more month, I will have made it through half a year. I’ll be halfway to the first anniversary of losing Steve and I will be halfway through all the firsts. As far as firsts go, though, it’ll probably be more than halfway because I’m positive that the learning curve is much steeper in the earlier days. At any rate, halfway seems like a measurable achievement and I’m nearly there.

I know that I’ve made a lot of progress, even though I’m not kidding myself that I’ve not still got a long way to go. It really is a strange thing how that, even after five months of the daily reality that Steve isn’t coming back, your mind still plays tricks on you. I’ve been cleaning out my computer files and found a “cartoon character test” (eg, a humourous “answer these questions and find out what cartoon character you are”). My first thought was that I’d have to get Steve to do it and then I realised that he isn’t around. It all happens in a split second from start to finish. I know that’s common…it’s just so weird!

I do want to say a huge THANK YOU for all the comments left and prayers prayed over the past couple of days. I could definitely feel the difference yesterday and I know that people were praying for me. Last night was the first night in a couple of weeks that I haven’t felt really down. It really touches my heart how so many people that don’t even know me are so faithful in their praying and support. There are a lot of you that I’ve never met that are not only still reading and commenting but praying and even e-mailing consistently–and that’s not even counting my phenomenal in-person support base! So thank you, thank you, thank you to those who are trying really hard to walk this journey with me. I appreciate you immensely, whether we’ve met or not.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura :)
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 21:41:00

    This brought tears to my eyes. It’s the nice thing about the internet. We can “meet” people that we would never know IRL. I will pray for you today, although this mile marker is almost over for you, as I assume it is evening there. I think prayer is the best thing folks can do. Laura 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lisa writes...
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 23:24:00

    It is my privilege to intercede on your behalf! May our Lord continue to show Himself strong and faithful!

    Reply

  3. TEXAUS MOMMA
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 23:32:00

    Love you sister….you are amazing! So glad that you are getting lots of love and prayers from all over, praying for you….keep climbing…one day you’ll be outta this valley! I am so proud of you….really. Enjoy your trip away, and come back refreshed! Your sister, Narelle

    Reply

  4. tootie
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 23:33:00

    I’m so glad that the prayers have helped you! And I think that praying also helps the person that offers the prayers – it truly is a powerful thing!

    Reply

  5. lauren clark
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 02:17:00

    I am still reading everyday and love you. I’ll pray for you today also.

    Reply

  6. Tracy
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 07:51:00

    Hi, I’ve come to your blog via Becoming Me. My heart breaks for you. I can’t begin to imagine your grief. Know that I’m praying for you and will continue to, as God brings you to mind, for strength, comfort and peace.Blessings, dear one. Tracy

    Reply

  7. Janine (txmomx6)
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 11:24:00

    I’m glad you’re doing better. This was a tough week for me, too, though for different reasons. I hate this grief road. But …. I guess it is what it is, right? Some days are better than others.Just know that you are not alone on this path.Janine

    Reply

  8. Luanne
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 13:20:00

    Hurray,I’m glad you’re feeling better. I went to dinner and played cards last night with 3 other widows in different grief stages. We were all doing fine until someone turned on the radio and the country western music just did everyone in, bringing back memories. It reminded me why I’m glad I switched to the Christian radio stations.Hope your up days keep getting longer. Luanne

    Reply

  9. Anonymous
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 15:56:00

    You have made a lot of progress and we are proud of you. Keep taking those small steps. Praying for you, love Sarah and Co.

    Reply

  10. Kelly @ Wisdom Begun
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 03:18:00

    And we will continue to pray for you! I promise you are always thought about by someone, somewhere in the world. Hugs, dear sister in Christ.

    Reply

  11. Edie
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 12:49:00

    Lifting you up my sister. I can’t pretend to know what you are going through but I do know that this kind of healing doesn’t come quickly or easily. I am so glad to see you clinging to the God who knows and loves you.I don’t know if you are familiar with Tammy Trent but you might want to look into her music and books. She is a Christian singer with a beautiful voice and a story similar to yours. She lost her husband to a scuba accident a number of years ago. She is very transparent about her journey and her songs are written to reflect the stage of healing God has her in at that moment. If you email her from her website she will probably email you back too. She has a deep love for the Lord.Her website is http://www.tammytrent.com/Her myspace is http://www.myspace.com/tammytrentGod Bless you my sister –

    Reply

  12. Robyn
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 17:01:00

    I’m so glad that you have so many people praying for you.

    Reply

  13. Mandy Owens
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 15:56:00

    🙂 i love my kristy!

    Reply

  14. Becky
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 17:46:00

    I hope that one day i can get to know you better Kristy! Thanks for telling me you like my header on my blog! I’m still trying to figure out how to use blogger!with love,becky

    Reply

Leave a Reply

