Unbelievable

Today, I got an e-mail from my pastor’s wife saying that she’d been unable to contact me on my home phone number. So…I call my home phone from another landline only to be greeted by the message, “This number is not connected.” Um, hello? I didn’t cancel my service and I certainly didn’t default on a bill!

A month or more ago, I rang Telstra and organised for them to take my home phone off the business account and put it on a personal account in my name. More than a couple of weeks ago, I went into a Telstra shop and organised for them to take my mobile phone off the business account and add it to my new personal account.

I knew it was too good to be true that nothing had gone wrong in all those transactions!!

Regular readers already know my love affair with Telstra. We had to wait for a week when we connected our internet service before we could use it because of some glitch. Then a mere month later when Steve called up with a complaint about my mobile bill, they disconnected our internet instead and we had to wait for another week while they reconnected it. I cannot work out how Telstra can stay in business when they can’t get the simplest of matters completed without error!!

So if you’ve tried unsucessfully calling my home phone…that’s why! Given that I’m hoping to move in the very near future (Lord willing), I don’t know that I’ll go to all the hassle of reconnecting it (along with the fact that, due to a different exchange out on the farm, I won’t be able to keep my number when I move into town). Like my internet, I think I might just wait until I get moved into town…

…and you’d better believe Telstra will not be getting my business!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chel
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 12:30:00

    ohhhh dear :Show annoying!! i think those companies are always a bit like that… some worse than others, of course, but yeah, it’s definitely not good.just adds to the stresses of life 😦

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Aug 31, 2008 @ 15:53:00

    Let me know if you find a good company – we’ve used Telstra, Optus, Kooee and AAPT over the years and they’ve all been as bad as each other. Sooo frustrating. Although I believe (or so my friends tell me anyway) that the smaller companies rent the lines etc from Telstra so maybe they are at the root of all the problems!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

