Crazy Weather

I drove to Adelaide today so that I can fly to Canberra tomorrow with my mum. I have driven alone a couple of times now which is quite an accomplishment (4.5-5 hrs). While it was something that I used to do and hardly thought about, it has been a challenge for me to get back into since Steve died. It’s not back to second nature and I really have to psych myself up for it but at least it is possible.

So with all that in mind, I wasn’t real thrilled to wake up today and find that the weather was still feral. The past couple of days, it has been blowing an absolute gale! Very miserable. The trip back today was almost a little scary actually as there were soooo many trees down along the side of the road and many of the roads are lined by these gum trees. There were fallen branches everywhere!

I stopped FOUR TIMES to drag stuff off the road that was either too big to drive over or taking up too much room on the road to be driven around if traffic was coming the other way. That’s because I’m such a good little helper–I didn’t actually need to stop for any of them. 🙂

Thankfully, the only time there was a tree down across the whole road, I was the SECOND vehicle there and not the first. The first was half finished with the job by the time I got there and it happened to be a guy and maybe his son who were quite capable of the task. If I had have been first there, I would have been stuck because it was way too big for me to move. The two of them looked like they struggled a bit! Of course, if I actually knew how to use the winch on Steve’s 4WD that I was driving, I might have had more of a chance. 🙂 (Steve never even had a chance to use it in the time I knew him which is why I haven’t even seen HIM operate it!)

Check out my book blog while I’m away. This one will be quiet but there are a few new reviews and hopefully I will manage to get some to auto-post while I am gone, too. See you when I get back!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chel
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 10:54:00

    Hey!!I really hope you and your Mum have a great time away, I’d love to do that with my Mum one day 🙂Wow! I can’t imagine you pulling branches off the road all by your lonesome :S Must have been an adventure 😛 lol but yeah, the weather’s been crazy lately :SI’m praying for you both this week!Love Chel!PS I just did my Grade 5 Classical Piano Exam 😛

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 15:54:00

    Yikes! I hate driving in weather like that. Glad you got there safely. Enjoy your time with your mom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

