Interestate Jaunt – Part One: Cooma

Monday week ago, we flew out of Adelaide and into Canberra. We were picked up at the airport by my old piano teacher and her husband who we hadn’t seen for FIFTEEN YEARS! We have been in contact over the years with them (and particularly this year) so they had offered for us to stay with them. They live in Cooma, NSW, where we lived for 4 1/2 years from 1989-1993. The majority of my family (me being one of them) hasn’t been back to Cooma since we left.

Mum aka Barby, Fay, Me, Rod


The next day, Fay organised to take us up to the Christian school (which wasn’t there when we were) so that we could see the mother of some friends of mine. We also hadn’t seen her for the same fifteen long years and I probably lost contact with these friends about ten years ago!! It was really good get updated on exactly what her family was up to as I had tried unsuccessfully to find the kids online.

Jan, Mum, Fay


It had been previously organised that our first neighbour-friends made in 1989 would come to Rod and Fay’s house for lunch so we could all catch up. Rod and Fay are both retired school teachers and know half of the district (or more!) so probably had taught every kid I grew up with during this time at some point in their education!

The crazy thing about seeing all these people is that, in spite of so much time passing, it was like we’d just seen them even though we haven’t been in regular contact. The town was also still much the same and it was kind of like a visit to the “town where time stood still”. πŸ™‚

Me, Sally, Mum, Julie


Later in the afternoon after Sally and Julie left, Rod and Fay went to visit a friend of theirs and lent us their spare car. We drove around Cooma looking at our old houses and different places we remembered. I was extremely proud of myself for not needing a map to navigate around a town I left when I was 13 and hadn’t visited for 15 years. πŸ™‚

There was no McDonald’s in town when we left! πŸ™‚
The first house we lived in when we moved to Cooma.
It was owned by my dad’s work and we rented it.
It’s been built onto now, though, so looks a bit different
and they took away the cool, adventure-filled garden we had!!

An old church building just out of town that we used to ride our bikes out to.
I can’t believe we rode so far. I think I’d be flat-out getting halfway now! πŸ™‚


The now-renamed company that used to employ my dad
and was the reason we moved to Cooma.
It used to be called the Snowy Mountains Hydro-Electric Authority.

The year before we left, a special friend of mine
was killed when she was hit by the school bus.
I really can’t believe it’s been 16 years and she would now be 25!!!

Our second (and only other) house we lived in.
This house backed onto bushland and, boy, did we love it!
It was the ideal spot for hours of cops’n’robbers and exploring.


Julie and her husband, Bob

This house is just out of Cooma on the road to Canberra at a place called Bunyan.
We always used to dream about living in this place. πŸ™‚

Also on the Cooma-Canberra road but at Bredbo,
I couldn’t believe this iconic place was still there fifteen years later!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 12:56:00

    My sister lived in Cooma (well actually their house was just outside of Cooma) for a year and it was a lovely place to visit. So cold though! I can imagine things not changing too fast there πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 16:43:00

    Great to see some photos – hope your time was special and relaxing. Praying for you as you return home. You are special and we are still thinking of you often. Love and prayers.

    Reply

  3. Chel
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 22:15:00

    they are such great photos! i cant imagine going back to a place i lived 15 years ago… and remembering everything πŸ™‚PS woohoooooooooo!!! RE the post about broadband! not only woohoo for you, but for your blog readers as well!! lol i can’t wait to be updated πŸ™‚ (i tried commenting on the other post but it didn’t work)

    Reply

  4. Susanna
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 23:31:00

    I go back to where I grew up quite frequently as my family are still there- even so there is always something different because it is a big city. Cooma looks like a good place to grow up in. Lots of fun and your photos are great. Glad you were able to see so many old friends- they are like a healing balm I think – I know my own old friends have helped me when things have been bad in my ‘here and now’ situation.

    Reply

  5. tootie
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 23:46:00

    Isn’t it surreal to see your old home town? I did that a few years ago, and it felt like I was going back in time. Glad you got to see some old friends, too! It’s always fun to catch up.

    Reply

  6. Laura :)
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 04:54:00

    Looks like you had fun catching up with old friends!Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 09:40:00

    That pankcake place looks awesome! haha it’s funny how McDonald’s is everywhere now.. even 1 minute distance! I’ve never been Cooma, or near there.. but how fun would it be to go on a road trip and drive around like you and your mum did!!(that dream house definitely looks beautiful!)lots of love

    Reply

  8. TEXAUS MOMMA
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 12:16:00

    Glad to hear that you are back! Thanks for all the pictures…if you have anymore, you can send me some more! How are things? Hoping you are having an ‘up’ day! πŸ™‚ Write to me soon, and update me on everything! Did you get an update on many of the old friends? Love you lots, and praying for you too…Narelle

    Reply

  9. Mandy Owens
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 15:23:00

    glad to see some fresh pics of you! looks like you had a pretty fun trip with mum. πŸ™‚ hope it was good for you to get away for a bit!

    Reply

  10. amanda
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 19:03:00

    how cool to be able to go back to your childhood homes! what a special trip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

