Be Real

I started reading a book last night that I found a while ago and have been waiting to get to. It’s called “Second Guessing God (hanging on when you can’t see his plan)” by Brian Jones (a pastor in Philadelphia).

Let me tell you, it is great and I highly recommend it even though I’m not quite finished! I read half of it through last night and really wanted to keep reading but knew that sleep really was more important since I have an important meeting on today. If you would like to read an excerpt, click here to go to the Amazon page where it is offered (and no, I don’t get any benefit from the referral!)

So I’ve continued reading today and, if you relate to anything on my blog, I think you will get a lot out of reading this book. If I started quoting all the bits I like, I’d be copying most of the book. 🙂

However, since my blog is pretty obviously all about keepin’ it real, I did want to blog this section:

The reason I think it is so important to pray the psalms while we are living in mystery is to learn how to be honest with God. Looking back, I’m amazed at how honest I was with God before I became a Christian. Before my conversion I held nothing back; whatever I felt at the time, I expressed it to God. After becoming a Christian, however, it was as if someone slipped me a little note that told me to use my manners when I approach the Almighty. For quite some time, when I was troubled or angry with God, I never told him about it–I didn’t think I was allowed. This resulted in an inconsistency between what was in my heart and what came out of my mouth. The psalms of lament gave me the courage to be real.

If the psalms of lament teach us anything, it is this: Christians can love God and feel immense hatred toward him at the same time. God doesn’t want tamed down, sanitized, forcibly dishonest prayers. He wants us to talk to him from our hearts, and sometimes that involves screaming and using words we wouldn’t repeat in public. Sometimes anything less than this is dishonest.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Felicity
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 13:44:00

    I am so glad you have a found a book you can relate to! I am so glad the Psalms are in the Bible – and come to think of it, the Bible is full of people who are very real with God! Glad you have internet back!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 13:50:00

    Some of the Psalms are almost uncomfortable to read they are so honest. I love that though, I mean its not as if God is surprised by how we’re feeling!I’d love to meet up with you sometime….although you’ll need to come to the Hunter Valley in NSW rather than Melbourne! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Robyn
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 14:21:00

    About 3 – 4 hours depending on Sydney traffic. Its a lovely part of the world 🙂 Did you have a great time at Capernwray?Oh, and in case I confused you, my parents are missionaries hence my upbringing.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 21:07:00

    so true! It’s so liberating when you’ve reached the point where you converse with God as freely as the Psalms. ( it was liberating and beneficial for me anyways).Sounds like a really good book! Hope you’re enjoying the internet back!ox

    Reply

  5. nicole
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 18:03:00

    We married our first son saturday 20th and this sunday the father of his wife died.(expected, because of lung cancer) But my handicapped daughter came up to me saying: “God said we should not crye”She repeated it severall times and I remembered your quote and said “no, God allows us to crye” so she came back sobbing and saying “Christian will always be in our hearts and in our heads!”But severall minutes later she came back saying once again that God did not want us to crye …I think it has been nailed in our heads that we should keep quite …but I really like this quote you shared with us, and I am glad you can realise you reacted in a very good way …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

