Interstate Jaunt – Part Two: Canberra/Floriade

Well, the initial thing that got me thinking about going to Canberra was Floriade. I’ve wanted to go for the past couple of years but not got there.

2008 was the 21st anniversary of Floriade and the theme for the year was “Films that shaped our nation”. Almost all the displays and flowerbeds were designed with that in mind.

Rod and Fay took us up and they went around together while Mum and I went around together. We spent the Thursday afternoon here and the weather was just beautiful…


These were at the entrance and I thought they looked great!


Um, any guesses what movie this might be based on? 🙂

I don’t recommend you watch Pricscilla, Queen of the Desert (I haven’t)
but it was a creative idea for a display!

Can’t have movies without popcorn 🙂

Based on the movie which seems to define Australia for Americans…
Crocodile Dundee

…see the croc going for the boat? lol



A cute sideshow–no, I didn’t ride it!

Music notes: semiquavers

Part of a piano keyboard


This was a pretty cool self-funded set-up that we listened to.
This little girl thought the music was playing for her. 🙂

Based on Kenny but hey, Australia’s all about the outback dunny!!
(I guess that’s one way to give your toilet a facelift…)

The poster for this year’s event

Got any old tyres laying around?? Make a black swan! lol

This stall had the cutest garden additions (and other stuff).
If I had room in my luggage…



A display plugging water conservation based around this



Cute, huh? 🙂

How creative and cool are these?!
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 16:12:00

    I love Canberra and i loved going to Floriade when I was there! looks like they’ve got many new things in the garden! lucky you =)

    Reply

  2. Susanna
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 21:35:00

    Wow that place looks fantastic. Flowers are just so versatile aren’t they? We have an ‘in bloom’ competiton here and local villages and towns battle it out to have the best floral displays but nothing on that scale. The closest I have got to Canberra in Canberra house in Cheltenham, UK! Never mind hey. Not sure I could cope with flying for that long…

    Reply

  3. Laura :)
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 21:57:00

    It took me a minute to find the “croc” going after that boat, lol!!!Laura 🙂

    Reply

  4. Miss Amy Smarty
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 01:18:00

    What in the world is a “semi-quaver”?

    Reply

  5. Robyn
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 07:35:00

    Just gorgeous! I love Floriade 🙂

    Reply

  6. gilly
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 10:33:00

    Hey they were cool pics. I wonder if I can do the same with my weeds. Glad you had a good time. Keep on keeping on

    Reply

Leave a Reply

