It’s Nice To Be Loved

I got some sweet encouragement tonight. The first was a text:

So when you coming back?
Soon i hope. Its not right
without you around. 😦

The second was a story about a little friend of mine. His dad is one of the two main guys that have helped keep my ‘jungle’ under control since Steve died so this little chap has a mighty fine example and he is obviously a quick learner!

When I got home yesterday the kids were playing outside and he had loaded a whole heap of things into the trailer (his wheelbarrow, toy chainsaw, 2 bikes, a step ladder from the shed and a couple of other things.) He had ‘tied’ them all down with a rope too. I asked what he was doing and he told me that he was going out to do some work for you. I asked what he was going to do and he said “cut down some trees and dig some holes!!”.

Isn’t that cute?! 🙂 He’s four years old, by the way! I’m not quite sure what his purpose was in digging holes since the only holes that got dug out on my place were done by Zeke

Speaking of which, if you read the story linked to about him, you’ll find that we changed his name upon taking ownership. The funny follow-up to this story is that, recently, I was given an update about how he is doing back at his original home. Although, he always came when you called his name, apparently when he got back on the other farm, he wouldn’t answer to anything until they started back calling him PETE (his original name)! All I can figure is that he must recognise their voices and associate them with that name/training. So Zeke has returned to being Pete and, personally, I think that’s very wrong!!! lol I would be very interested to see what he would do if I turned up and called “Zeke!” I have a feeling that he would come.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura :)
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 01:54:00

    It’s nice to be loved and thought of. And missed! And what a sweet 4 year old. What a sweet heart he has to be thinking of helping someone!! Too cute!Laura 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 05:55:00

    I just noticed the changes on your header. Its good to see you moving on, although I can’t imagine how difficult that is. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  3. Robyn
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 10:56:00

    Pete? Thats not right! Zeke is much better 😉I’m glad you’re feeling loved.

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 18:11:00

    Day by day, and with each passing moment,Strength I find, to meet my trials here;Trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment,I’ve no cause for worry or for fear.He Whose heart is kind beyond all measureGives unto each day what He deems best—Lovingly, its part of pain and pleasure,Mingling toil with peace and rest.Every day, the Lord Himself is near meWith a special mercy for each hour;All my cares He fain would bear, and cheer me,He Whose Name is Counselor and Power;The protection of His child and treasureIs a charge that on Himself He laid;“As thy days, thy strength shall be in measure,”This the pledge to me He made.Help me then in every tribulationSo to trust Thy promises, O Lord,That I lose not faith’s sweet consolationOffered me within Thy holy Word.Help me, Lord, when toil and trouble meeting,E’er to take, as from a father’s hand,One by one, the days, the moments fleeting,Till I reach the promised land.http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/d/a/daybyday.htmI’m doing this without giving contact details because I don’t really want this posted for everyone to see. I hope that this is an encouragement.Kate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

