If You’re Observant…

…you would have noticed some changes in my header. I’m not talking about the big, black “widow” but about some of the information written on the notepad up there.

You may have noticed that it says that I’m now just a “country-hearted widow living in town” and wondered if (or figured) I’d moved off the farm. You would be right.

It was a decision that I’d been thinking about for a while and one that, for many reasons, I decided was the best thing for me to do. I have pretty much received unanimous support in the feedback I’ve got which was a bit comforting!

In spite of that, it was a very hard thing for me to do. We had put a lot of work and dreams and togetherness into our farm house over the six months before Steve died. We have hundreds of memories featuring there. Leaving it was almost like losing Steve all over again and it really shook me up badly for a couple of weeks. Between that and the busyness of packing up, moving and cleaning, it’s part of the reason my blog was a bit dry. Some things are just too raw to blog these days.

So, currently, I’m boarding in town with some friends. I’ve actually been doing this on-and-off for quite a few months. It’s their son who is such a great worker-in-training. 🙂 The plan is to get a home of my own but I’m a bit blocked by paperwork at the moment.

Being in town, as much as it broke my heart to leave the farm, is a good thing for me at this point of my life. I just have to keep telling myself that, just because it’s best for now, it doesn’t mean I can’t ever move back out into the country. Because believe me, that’s where I’d rather live–but not alone.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kath
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 09:15:00

    Would have been hugely hard to make that move. Is the farm up for sale, or has that all been sorted?How are you finding it having the company?Thinking of you,Kath

    Reply

  2. Laura :)
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 10:53:00

    If you’re where you want to be for now and are happy, then I am happy for you. I am happy that you have people around as you seem to need that. (I would too, I suppose.) I will keep you in my prayers.Laura 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tiffany
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 12:26:00

    These kinds of decisions must be so excruciating. May you feel God through it all, and know that you can talk to Him, yell at him or whatever (like David in the Bible).He just doesn’t want silence…I am praying for you still.My heart cannot even imagine.

    Reply

  4. Janine (txmomx6)
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 14:01:00

    I’m glad that you did what was best for you. I can’t fathom how difficult it was for you, but the thought of being on a farm, with all of the work that entails, would be overwhelming for me.I’m glad that you had the strength to do it.Prayerfully,Janine

    Reply

  5. Robyn
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 14:10:00

    Oh Kristy. Moving must have been so, so hard. I’m sorry 😦 However it is a good thing that you’re able to be in town and with friends right now. I’ll keep praying.

    Reply

  6. Susanna
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 18:19:00

    I am glad you have been able to do that- as you said, it does not have to be forever, but getting through the toughness of life and managing all that is to be done is your priority right now. You moved to the country for a life you no longer have-therefore moving out again is in many ways the logical thing to do and I am glad you have support! May the Lord bless you as you settle into yet another phase of life and may He bring you joy again in the years ahead. I hope you get back to the country- but above all rejoice that one day you will be finally at home in glory with the Lord….as will I- must remember to say ‘hi’!

    Reply

  7. Miss Amy Smarty
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 01:17:00

    You are so brave…I’m so proud of you! God is truly with you!!

    Reply

  8. Rel
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 06:37:00

    Hugs – hope the move blesses you in ways you don’t even know yet.

    Reply

  9. Anonymous
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 17:29:00

    Bless you dude,Troy

    Reply

  10. Natalie (Nyquist) Ference
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 01:00:00

    it’s a hard change, but I’m glad for you as well. Your blog design is very sad though…I know you did it for good reason. :hugs:

    Reply

  11. Jennifer
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 14:31:00

    Kristy…I know you don’t know me but I have followed your story since before Easter. I have an award waiting for you at my blog site…you deserve this award…Marie Antoinette ~ Real Person Award. This goes to those bloggers who let everyone else see the real you…not just what others want to read.With all that you have been through during this past year…you have been yourself in your writings.God bless you!

    Reply

  12. Lisa writes...
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 06:38:00

    Praying the Lord continues to sustain you, in town or in the country!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

