Explanation Of Lingo

So it seems Americans don’t use the phrase “shouted me lunch”! It just means that they paid for my lunch. πŸ™‚ If you shout someone, you’re treating them to something.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 10:26:00

    Ok…must be from somewhere other than the good ole south…not in Arkansas…I’ve never hear that before. Seems a little strange, huh? Be we say “over yonder, ya’ll, fixin and other weird things like that πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Laura :)
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 11:22:00

    I wish someone would “shout me” some lunch!!!! We are really having fun learning about Australia in our homeschool. I had NO idea that it was so dry there. Our book says that most people live in the southeast. I thought about you right away. Very interesting! Have you ever been to the USA? I guess it would be an expensive trip. 😦Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Amanda in RI
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 12:52:00

    I figured that, but thanks for the clarification.πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. nicole
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 18:15:00

    I guessed that this strange way of talking must mean “invited ” for lunch!The country is so wide… you must shout to invite someone???

    Reply

  5. Susanna
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 18:53:00

    Don’t worry, we shout people lunch over here too πŸ™‚ I have a funny image in my mind of people trying to work out what that means!

    Reply

  6. tootie
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 00:16:00

    Thanks for the explanation! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Joy
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 01:21:00

    LOL! I figured…but I wondered too.:-)

    Reply

  8. Mandy Owens
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 08:38:00

    definitely never heard this one. and when i said it outloud, in my incredibly horrific aussie accent, it sounded like something altogether different. haha. πŸ™‚ it made me laugh though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

