I’m So Glad…

…that I no longer live in Adelaide! Apparently, the temperature there was 45.7*C at it’s hottest today. That is over 114 degrees Fahrenheit!! Not only that but the lowest it got down to overnight was 30-point-something (approx 87*F) around 5-6 am this morning and even then it was only for 15 mins!! On top of that, the public train system’s railway tracks were buckling due to the heat and many routes had to be cancelled!!! (I got this all off tonight’s news reports…)

People in the area of Adelaide where my family live are saying that it was a 47 degree day and, if that’s accurate, the temperature was nearly 117*F. Craziness. And it’s not about to stop.

Not so here… Me? I spent at least part of the night under my quilt. πŸ™‚ That is without air conditioning, in case you were wondering. The house I’m in at the moment does stay pretty cool for the first couple of hot days apparently which is good because there is NO air conditioning option. However, that is not unusual for this town…it’s quite common to have houses with no air conditioning or just a single or split system unit rather than ducted.

Supposedly the temperature here today was 44 degrees which is over 111*F. That actually sounds a bit too hot for this area but must be true because as I said to my current housemate: They don’t just pull those figures out of the air! πŸ™‚ The forecast for tomorrow is the same. Hard to believe around here. Tomorrow afternoon/evening might be a little less bearable than the past few days in that case but still…

I’m so glad I don’t live in Adelaide! πŸ™‚

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tootie
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 22:10:00

    Glad you’re getting a break from the heat! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Susanna
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 22:57:00

    It is funny- if we hit over 30 degrees here (c) we think it is lovely and hot……

    Reply

  3. Jenna
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 00:50:00

    You may be glad to not be living in Adelaide right now, but I would love to come for a visit for a couple days!! It would only take a second to thaw out in 40+(C) heat.We have been in a deep freeze here in northeastern U.S. – temperatures haven’t been above freezing for days and days. It’s snowing now with anticipation of at least about a foot of snow by the time it stops. Maybe the Aussies in Adelaide would love to trade places with us for a couple days? ;0) They can go tobogganing if they’d like while we go for a swim!

    Reply

  4. Amanda in RI
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 01:45:00

    Oh my gosh! That is hot! And here I am in New England, whining about more snow! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 05:26:00

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! That sounds like South Louisiana weather. It’s only 35 degrees here right now in North Alabama, and we woke up to Snow. It was beautiful. Hoping you have a blessed day.Josephine

    Reply

  6. Robyn
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:01:00

    I am so very, VERY glad I’m not in Adelaide. I was just looking at their forcast for the coming week and the max is 38+ everyday. I think I would just cry. Mind you, your weather doesn’t sound much better….even if 44 didn’t seem right to you it must have been close? How are you surviving?! I hope its cooler for the day you move!

    Reply

  7. Chel
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:51:00

    lol Us Adelaidians are just tough… the Limestone Coast seems to have softened you, Kristy πŸ˜› heheBut nah, it is rather warm… Just going outside and breathing the air feels like your nostrils are on fire. Yes, it sounds weird, I know :S BUT it’s true!! Keep cool, all my fellow Adelaidians!! PS. Jenna, I’d love to have a week in the snow and you come here and swelter in the heat πŸ˜€Love Chel

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:58:00

    Come on, it’s great cos you can swim all the time!!

    Reply

  9. The Editrix
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 13:22:00

    Reply

  10. Darcy
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 00:37:00

    I had just noticed a headline on a news site that I read about how hot it is in Australia right now and thought of you. We might actually get above freezing today for the first time in over a month! It rarely even gets over 90 degrees here so I cannot imagine those temps!

    Reply

  11. Nicole
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 20:56:00

    hearing the dreadfull knews about the wave heat and the fires… Hope you and all your famuly are safe!

    Reply

  12. Laura :)
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 09:41:00

    No air conditioning? Oh my!It was the opposite here when you posted this. It was about 9*F when we woke up some mornings. I am so ready for spring. I hate being too hot or too cold.Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

