Remembering…

It’s my birthday today. I’m 29. I have had a lovely day and even have some pictures to blog in the next day or so. For today, though, I want to remember Steve and my birthday last year…

It was rather unconventional actually: I spent a lot of it in the truck. πŸ™‚ Because we knew that we would be in the truck the afternoon/evening of my birthday, we had a birthday dinner together the night before. I don’t remember what we had; I don’t remember who cooked. I just remember that we drank the specially-kept-from-our-honeymoon bottle of de-alcoholised wine in the brand new wine glasses that Steve bought me for my birthday and gave to me early so we could use them. The drink was disgusting, by the way, but I cherish the glasses. πŸ™‚

A few weeks after Steve died, I was out in the town where he bought these glasses and went into the same shop. I’d never been in there before and I still get a kick out of imagining Steve in his truck clothes (on the way to a job was the only opportunity he had to buy me a present) walking into this shop and buying these glasses…the two don’t really go together! πŸ™‚ Kind of like the morning I met him in the same town for breakfast and he’d been loading sheep…let’s just say that there’s a particular aroma that goes with the job that probably wasn’t appreciated by the semi-classy people eating around us!! Just for the record, I miss the smell…

I do remember a lot about my birthday last year, actually. I remember that we had homemade waffles and sauteed apples for breakfast (yum, can’t beat it!) and bacon & egg rolls for lunch. I remember that I spent ages trying to set up our internet while Steve worked around the farm in the morning.

I remember that Steve left me at home while he went around the corner to Farmer Rob’s to load up the hay that we were taking to near Melbourne. I remember that they told him the pub in Dunkeld (on the way) was a great place to go for a birthday dinner. I also remember walking up to said pub and realising there were two sections to it: one counter-meals style and one white-linen-and-silver style…and that they meant the latter but we were in truck clothes. Needless to say, we opted for the former.

I remember getting a lot of text messages from my newly-left-behind friends in Adelaide. I remember stopping at a truck-stop on the way and getting the most feral cup of coffee from a machine that has seen me swear off them for life. I remember getting to our destination very late and being oh-so-grateful that there were actually toilets right there where we were parked to sleep for the night! (Let me tell you, there is a very good reason that trucking is a male-dominated industry…)

I’m so glad that I went with him because little did I know that my life as a truckin’ wife was to be so short. It actually wasn’t easy at the time, though, because we’d had a kind of agreement that we would go to Adelaide for Symphony Under the Stars (a free Adelaide Symphony Orchestra event on the banks of the Torrens River complete with fireworks–a never-miss annual event for me) and this job cost us that opportunity. Steve made it up to me by getting tickets to ASO Alfresco at Mount Lofty (which turned out to be quite similar minus the fireworks).

This is us there


This shows only a handful of the people there
and a snatch of the surroundings and set-up

The last, most precious thing that I have is the birthday card he gave me. This is so particularly special because it’s actually the only handwritten letter that I have from Steve. The majority of our relationship was originally by e-mail and MSN and then by phone and in person. So it has always meant a lot to me that he went to some effort with this and I’ve been carrying it around in my Bible since October planning to blog it today. He picked a very pretty “wife” card πŸ˜€ that said this…

I love how with a single glance you brighten up my day,
I love it when you tell me in your arms you’ll always stay.
I love the little things you do just to see me smile,
I love the way you touch my heart and make life so worthwhile.
I love so much about you, all you are and all you do,
But most of all I love you just for simply being you.

…which is all very “us” and were things we said and appreciated. Steve added…

Happy Birthday Kristy, you mean
so much to me. It is so great to
be able to call you my wife.
Thank you for all that you do for
me, all I want is to make you happy
and to make your life fun.
You are so beautiful, words can’t express
what I think about you so I’ll just
have to give you a big hug and kiss
and say I Love You.
Steve xxoo

It’s pretty flippin’ hard to let somebody like that go! πŸ™‚ I was very blessed… I miss you, Stevie!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tootie
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 00:14:00

    Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day!The card that he wrote was sooo romantic and thoughtful. I know you will cherish it and the memories!

    Reply

  2. Danielle
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 01:05:00

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Even though it isn’t like last year’s, I hope it is still blessed and very happy! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. lis
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 05:47:00

    I love how happy he looks.Praying an “exceedingly abundantly above all you could ask or think” kind of birthday your way.

    Reply

  4. Melinda
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 07:48:00

    That was a beautiful card and note that he gave you. Thanks for sharing your special memories as it helps us feel closer to you. Hope you had a good bithday! Can’t wait to come and see you on Friday!! We will head down after M finishes work. Lots of love, M,M&C.

    Reply

  5. Susanna
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 07:57:00

    Happy Birthday Kristy. I am glad you have such lovely memories even though you did not have long to make them. It is my sons 4th birthday tomorrow and my 30th in 2 weeks- February is a good month to be born πŸ™‚Steve had a great way of expressing what her felt for you. Wishing you love, hugs, waffles and sauteed apples πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Robyn
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 15:46:00

    You two packed a lot into the time that you did have together….I’m so glad for that.

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 03:27:00

    Joyeux anniversaire!All the best to you who are so special… I say that even more knowing you share the same birthday as my husband!

    Reply

  8. Mandy Owens
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 03:47:00

    i hope your birthday was amazing! it’s wonderful that you have such a precious memory of last birthday to cherish.

    Reply

  9. lauren clark
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 03:52:00

    Happy Birthday. Reading his card made tears come!

    Reply

  10. Anonymous
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 09:49:00

    Happy Birthday kristy!Don’t know what else to sayHUGS!!!!!Ange

    Reply

Leave a Reply

