My Birthday

I didn’t get much sleep the night before my birthday (no, it wasn’t because I was so excited about presents!) so really didn’t feel too good at all when I woke up that morning. However, that wore off as the day progressed and I ended up having a really lovely birthday, particularly by the evening.

My family all rang or messaged me since they couldn’t be here. They were down in January for my wedding anniversary so left my presents here then (with strict instructions not to open them–even though I already knew what they were) and are down this next weekend to help me move.

Before I was even out of bed in the morning, my phone started beeping with messages and didn’t stop till late that night. πŸ™‚ First off the rank was Hannah, my bridesmaid. My Facebook page was also bombarded with comments so it was all very lovely to know that everybody loves me. πŸ˜€ I even got quite a few messages the next day from people who mixed up the date or missed the boat. πŸ™‚

Since it was Sunday, Jo and I went to church (I’m staying with Jo while her housemate is away). That sounds pretty normal but it’s actually only the second time I’ve been this year. Leading up to the day, I expected that a group of us would probably go out for lunch since that often happens after church. However, with me not feeling too good and some people being away, Simun & Tracy (who I work for; our groomsman and his wife) and Ali ended up bringing takeaway back to Jo’s. I didn’t think to take any pictures but it was nice to catch up with them, particularly Ali since she and I haven’t seen a lot of each other over the holiday period.

For the evening, my “other family” (the people who have boarded me for the past four-plus months) said they wanted me to come for tea. They invited Jo, too. I just expected, you know, to eat a meal like I often do with them and expected that I’d get a cake (because that’s Sarah!). However, they had quite a lot of fun and it was a little family birthday party so I dug out the camera! Oh, I do need to explain about the cake. It’s called a “Concord Cake” and I’ve never seen or heard of it before staying with these friends. The fact that they made it for my birthday cake is proof that they still love me–even after over four months of co-habiting! πŸ™‚

The BBQ Man
(aka Jason or EF)

Bradley and Georgia-Kate
Sarah & Jo


Sarah (& Bubs!), Kristy, Jo

Georgia & Bradley helping me open presents πŸ™‚

(The bag was full of smaller, individually wrapped gifts
that Sarah enjoyed watching being opened as much as the kids!)

Georgia, Kristy, Bradley
(& the plate Bradley designed)

Kristy in a nutshell:
girl, sunshine, trampoline & handbag!

(Every picture Bradley’s drawn of me
since I’ve lived with them involves a handbag
but this is the first that has included the trampline…
guilty as charged, though!)

Isn’t it all so cute? πŸ™‚

Georgia, Sarah, Jo, Jason, Bradley

Blowing out the candles
(& Georgia’s finger)

Georgia r-e-a-l-l-y enjoyed that cake! πŸ™‚

I felt like the Mad Hatter wearing this hat–
but I definitely liked it more than the pointy ones!
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jewelz
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 17:56:00

    It looks like fun πŸ™‚LOVE the hat!!I can’t wait to see you this weekend πŸ˜€

    Reply

  2. Susanna
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 19:56:00

    Looked like fun πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  3. tootie
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 23:51:00

    Glad you had a good birthday! I love the hat πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. TEXAUS MOMMA
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 02:27:00

    Praise the Lord for putting such great people around you! I am so glad you had a nice day. You didn’t tell me that Sarah was pregnant! Tell her I said congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Mandy Owens
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:37:00

    you’re one of the lucky people who gets even more beautiful with every passing year… lucky indeed. the rest of us just seem to fall apart. haha. looks like you had fun… and that cake looks very interesting. wish i could have been in attendance at said b’day party… but something about the gazillions of miles in between us kept me from coming. πŸ™‚glad you had fun!

    Reply

  6. gilly
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 07:36:00

    That hat has had a lot of milage! It is an honour to wear it, as it means you have been accepted into the Cameron tribe.

    Reply

  7. Chel
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 17:29:00

    Hahaha!! That looks like great fun!! I LOVE the hat… feel free to get me one anytime πŸ˜€ I’m so glad you had a good day πŸ™‚Lotsa love, Chel πŸ˜›

    Reply

  8. Bipin Sen
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 03:45:00

    Hi there! I saw your comment on Susanna’s blog and decided to pop on over. So saying hi… I had to read the banner on your blog twice before I could figure out what it was saying. Sorry – it just seemed so unrealistic at first!Best wishes on your birthday! You have an amazing story, and I pray the Lord will keep you well.

    Reply

  9. lis
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 04:42:00

    Actually, I was thinking how charming (my sister would say “smashing”!) you look in that soft birthday hat!

    Reply

  10. Laura :)
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 10:35:00

    LOL! Nice birthday hat!! And that plate that Bradley designed is too sweet! I am all caught up now but still mad that for whatever reason my computer showed Dec 27 for all these weeks!! I hope I have it straight now.My prayers for you continue.Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Lisa writes...
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 08:55:00

    Happy Belated Birthday! Love the plate (precious) and the hat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

