Mice or Sky-Diving?

I have a friend who has been both sky-diving and white-water-rafting. I’m sure she’s done plenty of other things on the same adventuresome level. She’s not the kind of girl to sit back and watch. She’s funny as and has a song for every occasion. Steve and I often used to say, “We love our _____!” Life with her around is never boring.

When I first saw the list of things she is afraid of, it was so long that I thought it was all a joke!! I found out she was serious when we saw her reaction to meeting face-to-face with a blue-tongued lizard. Because she’s such a fun-loving girl who will give anything a shot, I find it rather puzzling. I’m afraid that I also find it somewhat entertaining, although I would never exploit them (truly).

So, with that background, here’s her latest story for shared entertainment (reprinted with permission, of course!)…

The only problem I am having at the moment is that I have rats/mice in my roof, which wakes me up at night and absolutely terrifies me. They ate some food in my cupboard that I foolishly left open. But after disovering their nibble marks and poo, I have moved all my food to a higher cupboard and put everything in containers.

I am petrified of rodents, but I still put traps down, although I hate checking, because what if there is one in there?! I don’t want to see it, I might have nightmares! And how do I dispose of it? I think I will pick it up with tongs and chuck away everything – mouse, trap and tongs. I am so not accustomed to putting down traps I had to look up on the internet instructions for how to set a mouse trap because I couldn’t work it out πŸ™‚

The other night I woke up and thought I saw a large rat scurry across the floor, but then I realised my blanket was over my face, so it must have been a floatie in my eye! Hehe, just shows how scared I am though!! Haven’t caught anything in the traps, even with peanut butter on them, which I hear they can’t resist, so that is a good sign. But they scratch around in the roof and it scares me and wakes me up at all hours of the night. I have no manholes, so I have told my agent and she will get the landlord to do something. Soon, I hope! It’s been over two weeks!

My apologies if you don’t find that at all entertaining (though I can’t understand why, especially if read by an animated voice in your head) because it absolutely cracked me up–though maybe that’s because I know her.

At any rate, I will DEFINITELY take mice in my house over sky-diving or blue tongue lizards in my yard over white-water-rafting. How about you? πŸ™‚

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    May 20, 2009 @ 19:57:41

    Uuurgh – I’m totally with your friend. I can’t stand rodents either, my skin crawls at the thought!
    I haven’t sky dived, but I have travelled solo on international trains in Asia, and around europe and the US on my own. I lived in a dodgy part of London and walked home from the bus stop at midnight without batting an eyelid. I did a dual parachute jump in Turkey where you ran off a mountain and then floated above a beautiful bay in Fetiye.
    But mice! I hate mice! I would totally skydive alone, and white water rafting – that I would love to do!
    I think it’s there are all kinds of bravery in the world, and all kinds of fear. We each build our character by facing a little of the fears we face, and by drawing support from our friends and family to cope with the rest.

    Reply

  2. Laura :)
    May 21, 2009 @ 02:00:00

    I agree with your friend. Like her, I don’t know what I’d do if I saw a mouse in the mousetrap. I’d probably have to call someone….a man most likely………my husband does this job well……but I like to torment myself about “what if I was alone and he couldn’t get home to get the mouse……..then what?”
    I think skydiving would be fun but my husband informed me that life insurance won’t pay if I die doing that. Oh well.
    Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Laura :)
    May 21, 2009 @ 02:00:00

    I agree with your friend. Like her, I don’t know what I’d do if I saw a mouse in the mousetrap. I’d probably have to call someone….a man most likely………my husband does this job well……but I like to torment myself about “what if I was alone and he couldn’t get home to get the mouse……..then what?”
    I think skydiving would be fun but my husband informed me that life insurance won’t pay if I die doing that. Oh well.
    Laura πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Susanna
    May 21, 2009 @ 03:38:00

    I’m with you…….no heights or white water for me (although I will walk through London without worrying…tooo much…)
    You might like to mention to her these plug in rodent deterants you can get. Apparently they send a signal whihc messes with the rodents head and so they vacate the area without leaving their bodies behnind :)…..my sister had squirrels in her roof…any chance it is them?
    I guess my lack of rodent hate could stem from the numerous pet rats we had as children (although they were fancy rats, not the diesease infested type!)

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth
    May 21, 2009 @ 16:29:19

    I’m with you Kristy! I will go so far as to say that I think mice are cute….hmmm….wouldn’t do rats though! Eugh! But I must admit to being ‘terrified’ of cockroaches! When I was in Israel volunteering years ago we had them running over our kitchen floor….Eww!
    As to skydiving, white water rafting and other things such as bungee jumping…I would definitely steer WAY clear of them! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  6. Snowbrush
    May 22, 2009 @ 07:02:39

    I’ve wondered about you from time to time and if I would hear from you again. I don’t know how I missed that your husband had drowned a little over a year ago. Maybe you hadn’t put the word “widow” into your blog title when I was last here. I am glad that you seem in good spirits; I really don’t know how I would bear it if I lost Peggy.

    Reply

  7. Chel
    May 22, 2009 @ 11:05:08

    LOL That was entertaining… probably not as much for us readers as much as you, Kristy, as we don’t know your friend, but… Yep, that’s an interesting story!!
    I go through stages of not being scared of rodents/insects/spiders, etc, then other times they freak me out. It really depends on the day, I think!
    And I am NOT a lover of heights, so bungee jumping and sky diving is definitely not for me! I’d be scared enough just watching people do it!

    Reply

  8. jo
    May 22, 2009 @ 12:59:22

    As Sussanah said there are same really good deterants around, we used ratsak the only problem is then you have to discover where the mouse/rat dies but if it’s in the roof then it should be ok until the smell gets overpowering although with no manhole… I’d also check for squirrels and get the landlord to check for broken tiles, if a squirrel there is a way of getting them out of the roof without having to kill them, can’t remember how but it was on Better Homes and Gardens one night so check it out

    Reply

  9. Tootie
    May 26, 2009 @ 02:32:48

    Haha! I guess everyone has something they’re afraid of. I would take mice over skydiving for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

