Not Tooooo Exciting

Many of you keep up with me on Facebook and have a bit of an idea what I've been up to which is a good thing as I'm obviously not finding too much motivation to blog!

Most of the time, we are just around home. School is in progress so that takes up at least the mornings. I am doing school with my 6 year old niece as she is still in the part of the curriculum that requires complete one-on-one attention. I have previously trained for and taught this to two of my siblings and one of our friends so I was quite happy to take it over for Narelle. It is coming along quite nicely.

Last Friday, we all headed to Oklahoma City for the weekend. My BIL had a meeting to attend and I was keen to see yet another state. It is a 4 1/2 hour drive. On the way, we stopped and had lunch with his grandma for a while. Around "supper time", we stopped again to see an old friend (for those of you who have heard of him, it was Arlen). I was really glad to get to see him as it had been eleven years!

While in Oklahoma City, Narelle and I took the kids to the OKC Zoo for the afternoon while Heath was at his meeting. It is a really great zoo–very pretty and very well done–and also very cheap!

Due to not being very familiar with their denomination but mainly because I expected a large group of unknown people, I nearly begged out of going to church on Sunday morning. However, I decided to brave the crowd, pretty much hoping that nobody would talk to me! In a breaktime, a lady came up and started talking to me, quite obviously planning on making conversation. Just as I was wishing I could get away, she asked if I had any children. I had no previous intention of telling her anything (and it was kind of a weird answer) but I just said, "I'm widowed". Turns out she lost her first husband when she was 26!

We didn't talk for a long time–and I don't know her story nor did she ask about mine–but I was very encouraged by her. She prayed for me and of course I cried. She just encouraged me to keep going and to keep being honest with God. The only bit of her story I really know is that she did the whole spiritual thing at first and it wasn't till later down the track that she realised how much bitterness she harboured toward God. So, when I told her that I'd been really angry at God and had spent a lot of time trying to work through it all, she told me it sounded like I was doing the right thing. It sure is nice not having to try to explain what hell on earth is like…she knew already. I definitely saw it as a God-incidence!

On the way home, we stopped at the Wichita Mountains. This was really pretty and we saw wild buffalo and deer and longhorns. If we had have been a couple weeks earlier, we probably would have seen the best of the fall colours and it would have been beautiful.

I have been taking lots of pictures but probably won't blog too many. If you're a regular reader who hasn't already seen my pictures on Facebook, leave me a comment if you would like to see some!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tootie
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 13:45:41

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the time with your family!
    And I loved your story about meeting that woman. It always encourages me to hear stories like that – God really is looking out for us!

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 16:12:18

    I loved your story about meeting that women too! It brought a tear to my eye. I always tear up when people pray for me like that too. It’s a really beautiful thing

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 17:22:49

    Still remembering you…I agree about working through things with the God…the Lord bless and keep you.
    Liz, UK x

    Reply

  4. Rel Mollet
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 22:08:18

    Hey dear one ~ I’ve given you an award 🙂
    Have a wonderful time with your Narelle 😉

    Reply

  5. Laura :)
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 22:59:54

    I was wondering if you were still with your family. I’m glad you are having a good time!!
    Laura 🙂

    Reply

  6. Laura :)
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 22:59:54

    I was wondering if you were still with your family. I’m glad you are having a good time!!
    Laura 🙂

    Reply

  7. Chel
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 15:14:04

    You sound like you’re having a fantastic time!!! You’re so lucky and blessed!
    And meeting that lady is really amazing; God really does care, doesn’t He!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

