Limited Vision

Our vision is so limited we can hardly imagine a love that does not show itself in protection from suffering. The love of God did not protect His own Son. He will not necessarily protect us–not from anything it takes to make us like His Son. A lot of hammering and chiseling and purifying by fire will have to go into the process. –Elisabeth Elliot

I have had a lot of conversations on this topic and a lot of my fear stems from the fact that I know those bolded words are very true. Perfect behaviour is no guarantee of safety or blessing. Previous trials and heartache are no safeguard against additional pain and suffering. Tragedy often strikes more than once.

I also struggle with the fact that love, to me, would see people put through a whole lot less hurt than I see God putting His children through. I feel like I'm ready to call "Enough is enough!" (for people I don't even know) far earlier than God seems compelled to.

This quote–written by a woman who certainly has the right to speak on the matter–spoke to all of those areas as well as tying in with some other areas of positive belief that I hold and a study I've been doing with my pastor's wife. It doesn't instantly solve my problem but it speaks on a major issue with a clarity and brevity that I haven't seen.

Strangely enough, it almost holds a glimmer of hope. Could it be as 'simple' as asking for a vision not limited by our own imaginings? Of course, the process of willingness needed to do that is anything but simple…

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim Mills
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 23:35:11

    Kristy, thank you for sharing your thoughts so honestly and vulnerably. I know that in due time, God will strengthen and settle those who wait on Him, no matter what storms have passed or are yet to come. I wrote an essay you might relate to that’s on a related topic: http://timothydeanmills.blogspot.com/2009/11/beautiful-soul.html.
    God bless.
    –Tim

    Reply

  2. Susanna
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 05:39:16

    This is something I have struggled with over the past few years as well- not because of things that have happened to me, but because as I have watched others face heart breaking situations I have had to re-evaluate my thoughts. Not that I thought Christians had it easy but I think I thought they did not have to feel as much pain etc as others- and I now know this not to be true. Often the solution to many things is simple but the getting there is not…..

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 19:52:32

    That is so interesting as so often I wonder how God can watch His children go through such hard times. And the thought of being hammered and chiseled is not something we relish the thought of. I value what Elisabeth Elliot says with what she’s been through and one of my favourite books is End of the Spear – have you read it?

    Reply

  4. southeastcountrywife
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 00:55:24

    No, Karen, I haven’t read it–you’ll have to lend it to me…won’t that be a change! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Laura :)
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 23:04:29

    I love reading your thoughts. You have a gift for words. You should write a book or a column in the newspaper. I imagine your insights could help a lot of people.
    Laura

    Reply

  6. Laura :)
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 23:04:29

    I love reading your thoughts. You have a gift for words. You should write a book or a column in the newspaper. I imagine your insights could help a lot of people.
    Laura

    Reply

  7. Sherrin Drew
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 19:09:56

    I’ve just been dropping by to see how you’re going. So much to catch up on, as I don’t come over to your site often!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

