Big Moves – Part One

I knew it was a while since I'd blogged but I didn't realise it was nearly two weeks! Things have been crazy around here…

Back in January, I wasn't really sure what to do with myself. I didn't feel like I fit anywhere and I wasn't really sure where I wanted to be. There were pros for my current location, Texas, and the city where my family is. There were also cons for all of them. 🙂 I started seriously considering moving back to A-town to be closer to my family. Given that I would be moving from a country town back to the city (something that didn't actually appeal much to me), I really wanted to know that it was the right decision and so…I started really praying about it.

Back when I moved off the farm, it was a hard thing to do but I knew it was the right thing for me. That surety has never left me. I told the Lord that I just wanted the same thing to be the case if I left the country to move back to the city. Well…!!!

I started putting out a few feelers while I kept thinking and praying. The more I thought about it, the more A-town seemed to feel like the right thing to do. In the later part of February, I put my house here on the market. TWO WEEKS to the day after signing the marketing agreement, I had an offer on the place. I countered and they agreed–to EXACTLY (to the dollar) what I had wanted to walk away with. One week to the day after that, the contract had cooled and become unconditional.

A few days after signing the marketing agreement, I was up at my parents' and a house came up for sale that was exactly what I was looking for. Back in January, I had seen one similar that I thought might be "the one for me" but it went under contract just before I could go and see it. Having seen God work everything together perfectly for me with the house I currently live in, I was determined to trust that it would all work out right again this time. So when this alternative came on the market, I was so excited. I would nearly have made an offer without seeing through it. 🙂

I organised to look through it before I travelled back home and it was perfect for me. Amazingly, the couple of issues with the house I'd missed out on weren't an issue with this new one. Unfortunately, though, the owners weren't willing to take any "subject to sale" contracts as they had already bought a new place. That was ok. I was disappointed but said that God knew and, if it was the right one for me, something would happen with my house. Later that week, my house went under offer. 🙂

So I called up and made an offer on the new house–for the exact amount I was selling my house here for. Apparently, there was another offer exactly the same as mine and one higher. The one higher was "subject to sale" so I didn't think it would be much competition. The offer the same as mine was by investors. Do you know why the owners accepted my offer? They didn't want to sell their house to investors to rent out!!!!! LOL

The settlement date for both houses is March 31st–which is 3 1/2 weeks from the time I knew  this house had sold and 3 weeks from the time I knew I was guaranteed of the one in A-town. So I have been living life in the whirlwind!

But you know what? I don't have any doubts abuot whether I'm making the right decision for me. 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chel
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 10:16:07

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Isn’t God amazing?!!?! It’s so wonderful to read other people’s stories and testimonies of how it’s so obvious that God really does care about us–how He works everything out 😛
    Love you lots and can’t WAIT to see you more!!!!
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. Robyn
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 10:45:36

    How exciting! Good luck with all the move will entail…will be praying for you.

    Reply

  3. Mitch
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 21:07:15

    Inspiring! I admire you in many way! More power! God really sees the truth but waits.

    Reply

  4. suzanne
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 16:34:21

    Does that mean you are moving back to Adelaide??? I’m soooo happy; can’t wait to see more of you.

    Reply

  5. lisa writes...
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 10:46:04

    How exciting. The Lord continues to show Himself faithful!

    Reply

  6. Elizabeth
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 18:54:53

    Awesome to read this Kristy! Wow -yes, I definitely think you have your confirmation that this is God’s plan for you! How wonderful to have that absolute knowing!! Happy for you!!!

    Reply

  7. Laura :)
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 22:09:10

    Congrats on the big move!!! I know how busy you are and will be but it’s good to be busy. It’s so exciting to see how God provides for us.
    Laura 🙂

    Reply

  8. Laura :)
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 22:09:10

    Congrats on the big move!!! I know how busy you are and will be but it’s good to be busy. It’s so exciting to see how God provides for us.
    Laura 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

