Something Other Than Books?!

It’s been a long time since I’ve really blogged. I mainly stopped because of things c0nnected to parenting a stepchild. There’s a lot of isses to consider that come with that. However, I discovered that a new friend is a blogger and reading through hers kind of wet my appetite to get back in. I don’t really even know where to start so leave some questions if you have an idea. 🙂

For starters…

We had our first wedding anniversary in June. I finally…FINALLY…made it to a first wedding anniversary. That was cool in itself. We very spontaneously ended up back spending the night in the country club where we got married–with a newborn in tow. 🙂 We spent most of Saturday and Sunday driving in order to stay overnight on the Saturday but it was really speial to be able to do that. The weather was beautiful for a day driving in the country so, for me, it was just nice to get out. We were very glad we took the risk! (And it was a risk because I hadn’t been comfortable driving in the car for even an hour since my Caesarean!!!)

One of my younger sisters got married in March and then one of my younger brothers got married in July. My brother married a Brazilian girl that he met when she was an exchange student out here. 🙂 I now have a married-to-my-brother sister-in-law and a sister-to-my-husband sister-in-law with the same name. 😛 My brother both got married and had his reception in the same place that Steve and I had our reception. Then I found out that the wedding coordinator for my wedding to Kallon had been transferred and was now the wedding coordinator at this other venue–she did my brother’s wedding, too! That was both bizarre and cool. I hadn’t been back there since my first wedding so that was a kind of weird feeling but not a problem.

My angel-baby has been rather challenging. She was easy-as for the first 6 weeks and I guess that’s when I really needed it. We have had a few issues to work through but love her to bits anyway. 🙂 I started off doing Babywise and it’s the one thing I wish most that I could change. Never again. She has also had a few issues with reflux and now colic but I know she could be a lot worse than she is so I’m grateful for that. Right at this very moment, she has been asleep for 3 hours (in the middle of the day) which has been rarer lately but makes so much difference for both of us. We are gradually figuring things out that help with her problems. That said, she is great at night and sometimes I prefer the night shift to the day shift!!! I have become a bit of an Ergo-wearer and even Kallon gets it on sometimes. 🙂 Katelyn smiles a lot and it’s absolutely beautiful. She started laughing yesterday and I can’t wait to see that grow! She has both smiled and laughed from a couple of weeks old (earliest I have ever seen in a baby for laughing) but yesterday was the first real time that you could say she knew what she was doing and was more than the “trying to” chuckle.

We have moved from the town we lived in when first married to a town about 40 mins away. Kallon’s mum and sister (and her boys) live here and we are loving it here. It wasn’t something we had planned but it definitely has been a good thing. We have no more moves planned for quite a while!!! Since we have bought this house, we should be good for a bit. 🙂

We have become part of an awesome country church. We felt really welcomed there from the first time we visited and are slowly starting to feel like we “belong”. There are lots of kids which is fantastic for Lukas and they are really intentional about the involvement of the kids in the church services and activities. They have a really great emphasis on Scripture memory too.

We are now 15-20 minutes from the beach which is the closest I have ever lived which is pretty cool. We are looking forward to taking advantage of that when the warmer weather comes, although we have been a couple of times through the year already!

For now, I think that’s about all that’s at the forefront of my mind. Comment away if you want something written about. 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicia
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 06:23:04

    So good to hear a personal update. Sounds like lots of good gifts. 🙂 Sorry about the Babywise experience. I hate the book, but it does seem to work for some people. My first two babies had reflux too and it would have been a nightmare. Glad you’re past that. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Krista Work
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 14:04:14

    I’m excited to hear from you! I’ve been praying for you for a long time; congratulations and best wishes on your new chapter. I’m glad you’ve had enough healing that you can revisit places that were special to you and Steve.

    I had a baby by c-section recently, too, and in the muddle of newborn non-sleep, I thankfully never actually had the self-discipline to bring the Babywise hammer down. Alicia was right–it does work with some people, and a good friend of mine Babywised all her babies, who are just great kids. However, it’s not something I prefer to implement. You have the Holy Spirit, the Word of God, your instincts, and you should have a firm hope that you can rebuild what it is that you lost doing Babywise.

    Congrats again. Keep up the writing!

    Reply

  3. Chel
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:22:16

    Love love LOVE reading your post!!! I have greatly missed your blog, Kristy… And I hope that you will continue to receive inspiration and energy to post more!!!!!!! You’re an awesome writer, and I just love hearing about what is happening 🙂 🙂
    Miss you!
    Chel xoxo

    Reply

  4. Laura :)
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 02:24:28

    I am so glad to read an update here! I have been wondering how things are going. Reading this made me realize how long it’s been since my little one (who is now 13) was little! It’s definitely trial and error.

    Laura 🙂

    Reply

  5. Sandra
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 12:01:53

    Sounds like things are going well! Glad to read a personal update. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Narelle
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 08:38:15

    Never saw this till now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

