Quotable Quotes

Amanda tagged me with this meme. The instructions were: Go (to a particular page) and look through random quotes until you find 5 that you think reflect who you are or what you believe.

So, I did…and these are the 5 I decided to keep. Though, like Amanda, I could be there all day… 🙂

That you may retain your self-respect, it is better to displease the people by doing what you know is right, than to temporarily please them by doing what you know is wrong.

–William J.H.Boetcker

He who demands mercy and shows none burns the bridges over which he himself must later pass.

–Thomas Adams

Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket–safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.

–C.S.Lewis

But pain… seems to me an insufficient reason not to embrace life. Being dead is quite painless. Pain, like time, is going to come on regardless. Question is, what glorious moments can you win from life in addition to the pain?

–Lois McMaster Bujold

When I am attacked by gloomy thoughts, nothing helps me so much as running to my books. They quickly absorb me and banish the clouds from my mind.

–Michel de Montaigne


So…what are yours? Consider yourself tagged and leave me a comment if you choose to do it–I’ll come by and take a look! 🙂

 

Leave a comment